You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doncha let 'em tell ya just-anythin' (rough beatbox multi-track)

in #dsound7 years ago

Excellent! I am a HUGE jazz fan. Without jazz I wouldn't be alive today... Bill Evans, John Coltrane, Bobby Timmons, Thelonius Monk, et al. I also didn't know that beatboxing was so big, and had so many interesting videos on YouTube. I just subscribed to a few channels, so thank for writing about this. @d-pend, in line with our main discussion about poetry writing, I think that this kind of information about yourself, your mental processes, your interests, etc. when PROPERLY injected into your poem posts can go a LONG way in adding ADDITIONAL value to those posts, and to put a "person" behind all of those words, which can help prevent the poems from descending into the abyss of "word salad" ;->

Sort:  

Nice!! I think you're spot on. Thelonious Monk is my favorite jazz composer, for sure. Along with the ones you named, there are too many others for me that, as you implied, helped me feel that life was worth living when I was going through darker times. I have a bit of an odd relationship to music, which I hope to heal gradually. I used to be completely obsessive about it, my skill was equated to my self-worth, I would eat, sleep and breathe music, nothing else seemed to matter.

I'm really glad you found the beatbox scene fascinating, because the only reason I even got into it was I just searched "Beatbox Championships" in YouTube out of curiosity... thinking there MUST be some people that are very serious about it. That was last December. I was AMAZED how much stuff there was in the scene and how diverse it was. Everything from Gene Shinozaki's musicality to Alem's super-technicality to people skilled with loopstation, etc.

Check out the channel on YouTube "Swissbeatbox." There's an arts patron named Pepouni who is a Swiss guy that supports beatboxing to a high degree. That's probably the top channel I'd recommend to discover stuff from.

Again as always thanks for the excellent comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56