Sort:  

Reading sheetmusic is actually good for cognitive growth. lol

I wouldn't call myself a musician or a producer if I couldn't transcribe sheet music. but thats only my opinion.

I would!! haha!! ... in all seriousness tho, I wonder how different a system we would have if we were always able to actually record music like we do today. I can read music to a point but am def not 'fluent' as I dont use it. My main instrument is bass guitar after beatmaking, and if I was learning something it would be from the recording everytime when it comes down to it!! ... also alot of what I make isnt using western scales that I could write anyway. It all goes straight from ear to brain and back again!!

I know what you mean, but as a Bassist you don't need to manipulate the full spectrum of The Grand Staff. I'm a Classical Trained Pianist myself, so I tend to gravitate to understand Music Theory in all of its Aspects. Sure learning a piece by Ear is obviously simple and requires less focus and tedious understanding. Not many people care anymore, and its because of the revolution in MIDI information.

fretless bass = freedom from western scales + expression - tedium

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90