You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deep Drum & Bass - Nicky Havey - Questions

in #dsound6 years ago

Nice orchestral vibe to go with the D'n'B groove in this, those are all good questions too, but it's always those curve balls that get thrown into the mix that make it more fun...especially in retrospect when you find yourself asking 'how did I end up here?' a few years down the line =)

Sort:  

Thank you @skaarl! It's often the curve balls that provide the answers for us! I know what you mean, reflecting on how you got to where you are can sometimes be a good thing but the truth is, no one really knows how the future will pan out but if you start working towards a goal, things happen along the way that you many never anticipate.

Yup, I read something the other week on that very subject. This guy reckons the optimal time to set short term goals is 1 - 3 months ahead.

So I thought I'd see how this works by giving myself 90 days to finish a 12 track release, including all the producing, mixing, mastering, sourcing something for the cover, etc.

I'll let you know how that went in November lol

If you happen to find out what the optimal time for achieving a long term goal is, let me know ; )

That's great to put a time limit on what you want to achieve, makes it feel a lot more real than something that's vague! Good luck with your release!

As for long term, you can't really predict anything further than 5 years so best bet is probably 18 months - 3 years for long term. So much can happen in that time that changes your goals but as long as you are flexible then anything is possible right?

Ahh, I'll go with the 18 months - 3 years thing then, that's more or less what I have been doing anyway, it was either through intuition or a bloody good guess lol.

I'm actually thinking about this kind of thing a lot at the moment because I need a different job (or rather, escape from this particular institution I'm currently shackled to).

Being flexible is always good, like this bloke once said "be like water my friend".

You have a smart head on you @skaarl, you probably have a lot more figured out than you think, just need a mentor (like I do) to ask for some guidance and you'll be flying.

Nothing wrong with a career change, a lot of people do it. I've worked 4 jobs in the last calendar month, something good is coming though, I can feel it :)

Skill sets are transferable for the most part so think you will be alright wherever you go. And new skills can always be learned.

Well for me, I'll stick to working in the same profession, although possibly in a slightly different area.

It's a change of location that I need (the current environment and the hours do me no good). There's only one person that'll make that happen though...I just need to get my groove on ; )

Hope you're right and something good comes your way too =)

Always good to expand skill sets and I strongly encourage everyone to do that. If you're feeling ballsy, you can of course go for a completely different industry altogether... I gave that a go... you feel totally exposed at times but actually, if you have the right skill and mind set, you can do more than you would think!

Something very good feels like it is coming my way, I'm sure I'll be writing about it in the coming weeks seeing as there's an outrageous story behind this!

But yes, it's in your best interest to get your groove on :)

Totally agree about expanding skill sets, I do have regular CPD that I’ll put myself through if employers are reluctant. I’m good at what I do though, and enjoy the type of work, just want to do less hours and in a different environment if that makes sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59762.43
ETH 2663.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41