Summertime (Gershwin cover) by Rock Chick Jen

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


This old recording was the first time I ever recorded. I am just doing the vocals and the before mentioned ex was the one playing guitar. This song is so sentimental and special to me. There were cassette recordings of my father singing it to me as a child, and every time he picked up his guitar, I would scream "Summertime Daddy!!!" I wanted to try to convey the feelings and emotion I have when I hear this song, and show my dad that this was one of the most memorable moments of my childhood. I loved to hear him sing and play guitar. And he loved to hear me play and sing as well. He always told me that I would be his country star one day... Haha! Well I didn't go the country route, but I tried daddy, I tried. ;) This song is an essential when I pick up my guitar. I play it religiously and made sure that my boys grew up knowing the song by heart as well. And one day I will teach it to them to carry on the tradition.

Thanks for looking and hope to see you again soon!
Ask me how to join the Steemit Local Music Society on Discord!

blog_collage.jpg


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Thank you so much!

Absolutely love the back story to this.

Unfortunately I can't get dsound to work for me at the moment so I can't hear it but I will try again later.


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

love this song, classic, glad it holds dear memories for you, i have lots of those songs too

Thank you! And that's why I love music! Everyone feels it, no matter the genre or type that they like, it always makes you feel!

indeed , the power of music, its our soundtrack to life, can transport us back in time , make us cry, smile or just make us tap our feet. its the gift that keeps on giving

Got it to play now. Love your vocals on this. Very soulful!!

classic song given a delightful treatment, love the simplicity great vocal performance.

Hello kryptoe!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thank you! I love to sing this song. Always have! ;)

I'm not sure if this implied to be a "head banging" song, but that's what my 3 year old grandson is doing right now listening to this. He hangs out with Grandma too much LOL. I think you have a new generation of fans :)

Haha! That is just too cute! I love it!

Here's your fan last fall when remodeling the kitchen.

That was really perfect!! this time acoustic! killer!

good cover! Really nice both vocal and guitar wise! I love your vocal timber

Thank you so much!

Love this! A family that loves and plays music together is so special. You've been lucky.

Looking like a fair maiden in that photo too. You have a nice folky sounding voice. Too bad you didn't go the country route. Probably would've done well.

Oooo, fair maiden! I like! ;) And I could have done country, but I knew it wasn't where my heart was. I wanted to concentrate on my real passion, rock and roll! Haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33