Petra Jordan - Under The Scorching Sun (album version - "The Other Side" 2011)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


It's interesting how things tend to coincide. I'm learning a Sade song for the upcoming jam session here in the area, and today I had scheduled to upload my track "Under The Scorching Sun" to DSound, the arrangement and production of which was inspired by some of Sade's production (e.g. "No Ordinary Love") - not that I had planned it from the start, it just worked out that way.

I love the smoothness of her and my :) voice contrasted with the grinding sound of distorted guitars... Though I'm singing in a higher range than she does in this song.

This is one before the last song of my debut album which I will be sharing with you next week.

For now, enjoy

UNDER THE SCORCHING SUN

Tell me babe,
what is on your mind
Confusion, delusion, illusion
In this too fast a life
Tell me babe, what is going on
Did you get the feeling
That you’ve seen it all?

We all look for reasons
Where there’re none to be found
In our momentary highs
That bring our lows about
We can’t stop searching
We’ve been too long, too blind
And I just opened up my eyes

Under the scorching sun
Out in the desert…

Tell me babe,
Are you feeling cold
Out there under the scorching sun?
‘Cause I can see right through you
And I can breathe right through you
And I know what you’re talking about

We all look for reasons
Where there’re none to be found
In our momentary highs
That bring our lows about
We can’t stop searching
We’ve been too long too blind
And I just opened up my eyes


► Listen on DSound
Sort:  

Nice soothing track, and the voice and melody are fantastic !!!

Thanks, @davenavarro! I enjoyed playing a bit with diminished chords and melody over them in this song :) It does create an interesting effect... Thanks for listening!

Sounds like a "artist of the week" winner :)

Thanks, dear ;)

Beautiful voice.

can definitely hear sade influence here, this is very nice, smooth and produced very well

This song evokes incredibly warm feelings. Very high quality vocals. Respect! 👍

Thank you, @spidola! I strive to do my best at all times!

Your post is highlighted and given additional feedback in Issue #8 of Music today here: https://steemit.com/musictoday/@smacommunity/music-today-issue-8-or-a-dsound-community-initiative

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

What were you hoping to achieve with this reply? Getting blocked for spam? ‘Cause you achieved that all right!

Confusion, Delusion.... love the lyrics. I like song writing and singing too. Good work. Reminds me of that little mermaid under the sea and under the sun, hehe. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44