Paradigm Prospector - Spirit Root | SML Challenge S2:R9 "Music of Africa"

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


My entry for the Steemit Music League Challenge S2:R9, the theme was 'Music of Africa'.

Special thanks to @chiefmappster, @derekmiller and @beatseb for all your time and efforts in listening to the tracks of the community, as well as to the whole @dsound crew and all you lovely listeners.

Wanted to go for some twisted lion king theme at first - glad I didn't and tried out some new things instead ;)

Backup source:

Created in Bitwig 2.3
Have a mystical ride!

Img src


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Hey that was pretty cool. Was that a bass guitar I heard along with those drums? Wherever it was, I liked it.

Cheers brother!
It does sound like a bass guitar though technically it's a string instrument known as
I went for that sound as I was specifically in need for a bass-guitar-like sound to complement the bass from the main parts and a hand played bass somehow seemed to passive, so I went for this instead.

It's known as an "Oud", a somewhat ancient lute-like instrument from the Middle East.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oud

Really good to know that combination of the basses and drums worked out as intended, thanks <3

I feel like I'm on a hunt. Maybe I've been playing too much Diablo, I want to make a game with music like this haha :)

Dude, if this put you on a hunt I hit the target perfectly as that was my intention when the first few sounds came together. Perfect ;) cheers for your feedback my friend.
If you ever make a game, hit me up - I would lvoe to supply a soundtrack. Also have connections to an amazing artist if you need some concept sketches that would make Blizzard run with their tail between their legs ;)

https://steemit.com/visionaryart/@sibr.hus/expedition-album-of-going-round-the-corner-of-reality-page-qw12a34

Wow! I just checked out @sibr.hus and that is amazing! I'm still working up my story, but it'll be a RPG based on Muay Thai heroes and based off the lonnggggg poem of Ramayana (Ramakien for Thailand). I'm excited for more of your soundtracks! Keep them coming!

Once I read about your story I am sure the tracks will come by itself, would be a nice experiment for sure. Awesome dude <3

This music has a soothing effect on mind. I think you created the African music with the help of Western instruments (if I am not wrong) which enhanced the effect.
Best wishes!

Ahahah agreed, glad you liked it. It's so hard to leave the frame of reference, lol. Tried my best to research a bit and go for pentatonic in tonality, but some instruments (like the piano) I just couldn't resist to put in there. Swapped it for a somewhat gritty beat down piano but it wouldn't fit, so everything turned mystical and cosmic and I allowed it ;)
thanks for listening <3

It was excellent! I hope to see, read and listen to many such outstanding things from you.

Deadlines every week <3

yes! this is mighty fine! the first animal scream got me smiling. great textures in this tune! so clean! i dig i dig!

It turned out much more etheral than I had anticipated - super happy you dig it brother ;)

sometimes they do that. have to go were they take you

O myyyyyyyy yes yes yessssssssssss.

What a distinct and vivid vibe you create with this one. It is so thick with that music of Africa mood I can feel it from here.

What a way to set the tone in the beginning with that combination of sounds and then comes that scream/howl and we are off on the hunt.

Love that sound you bring in around 0:58 and 1:30 as well o myyy. And those nature sounds and the kids talking yesssss what an added element they bring.

And what an amazing cover image to cap off this amazing entry. Appreciate you setting the bar so high with your VIVID mood creating entries.

Much love and respect.

See you bring out the best in me and my music ahahaha. Thanks for all your feedback and your efforts in growing the league my chief. And don't forget to take a break now and then, it seems we have grown a lot in recent weeks and we can't have you burnout along the way. Don't really care if the results of a round take a few days longer or not, main thing is our chief doesn't work himself to death.
<3

Ayyy you're very welcome glad to hear I can be a positive influence my brother. And appreciate you saying that means a lot you caring. Can feel the love and positivity from here. Thank you :)

African music ? I don't listen before. But it's really amazing .

;)
Never MADE African music before^^ It was quite a challenge to not WESTERNIZE it too much ahahaha.
Thanks for listening and your feedback dude!
<3

yes .Are you listen Indian music ? I think it's the best

Sometimes I do ;)

listening on sma!!! very cool man!! 白蚁.

cool, I dig the radio show. It will be HUGE one day ;)

It sounded great on the Needle, successfully placed me in the right place, and it was perilous and thrilling

wow thanks for sharing

It really took me on a journey. very nice!

Perfect! I really wanted to revisit some time after I got done actually ahaha.

really enjoyed this on the SAM radio show buddy! keep up the good work <3

awesome to hear. Will do, there are sooo many tracks to be done ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56