Regrets and the Back Room (spoken word)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

I have tried ten thousand ways
to just be quiet,
but I can't be.

I walked 80,000 steps
to get to this scowling driveway
before your house
and I won't leave
until you answer
my soft knocking
on your door.

You told me
all too gently,
that it was over

But I could hear it
in your voice,
you

m a y b e

wanted

m o r e.

[You maybe wanted more.]

So I packed a dozen things
and hit the road.
And now I shake
like twisted willows
on this porch.

The sky is raining needles,
I can feel them on my back,
like hatchets on a see-saw,

Up and down
left and right,
dripping through the roof cracks

overhead.

Maybe I'd be better off
d e a d

But I need it, one more time,
your breath upon my stare...
that heat and raging peace
to calm this war.

Then, creaking, as it opened,

(I get it)

There you are.

And then It's your stare,
and my breath,
and your glare,
and my tears,
and your thumb, there..

pointing backwards to that room.

And off we go.


Spoken words and photo ©2018 paintingangels


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I like the voice and intonation

Beautifully written, Serena!

Thanks so much, Heather! ♥

Images and sensations that lodge themselves deep in the heart. Amazing work.

This is so beautiful Serena, yet so sad, ominously intense
You're a true poet.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73