You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Children With Addictions (SML Beat Battle League S2:R6) - Nathan Kaye

in #dsound6 years ago

I must say how I am impressed by your smooth voice, great singing!

I love the social relevance of this tune. I personally have had a vegetarian diet for over thirty years now. It made sense health wise, life span and 'health span' (delaying that age when one depends on big pharma to stay alive), 'bio-accumulation' of toxins is reduced when eating the lowest on the food chain. It also reduces habitat destruction for factory farms, somewhat close to what you sing about here. So what's good for you is good for the planet.

I was also fortunate enough that I could bicycle to work for many years, to reduce my need for fossil fuel; we were a 'one car family' for about five years, saving about 20000 USD doing so, once again, good for humans good for the planet. I could probably eliminate sugar, if my wife and kids didn't have a junk food fetish that allows me to snack on bad stuff.

There's also the rainforest in SE Asia and other parts of Oceania that are getting slashed and burnt for palm oil production, a big ingredient in junk (processed) food and candy, also...

Sort:  

Hey @onemedia! Thanks so much!
Seems we have a lot in common. I started on a predominantly vegan-ish diet since 1984. I've oscillated between pescatarian to raw vegan to non-ovo-vegaterian to vegan to... etc in those years since... But since 2012 I've been Veganese (No meat, no dairy, vegetarian, but have my own apiary and chickens who happen to lay eggs). My choices with diet and many other things has primarily been about having the minimal impact upon the planet and optimum health for mine & my children's bodies.
This song is highlighting our lack of awareness between our life choices and the impact we have environmentally, socially, politically, psychologically, etc..
Originally there was an extra verse about our psychological addiction to other people, as well.
It's about joining the dots because we are all intrinsically interdependent.
there is no such thing as true independence within this cosmic soup we live and thrash about in...

Fabulous to hear about your life and perspective.. Thanks so much for sharing!
:)

Now that you mention it, occasionally I find myself in a situation where I eat something 'just to be polite' fish, or pizza (actually I find Pizza and ice cream difficult to turn down), something with eggs, but anymore, I'm noticing what could be allergic reactions, mostly nasal congestion from animal fat ... So I treat those items as 'special occasions' not part of my regular diet.

As far as other people, I do see collectivism as a problem, often thwarting individuation. A real philosophical problem, because we are intelligent, sentient, yet highly socialized (preferably not to the extent of group think and mob rule). The main difference, however subtle the distinction is between individuation and self-centered individualism, as far as I can tell, is the last part of the 'monomyth', The Hero's Journey ... That is, after one descends 'into the cave' and 'fights the dragon' to 'get the treasure' to fully Self-Actualize, one must 'bring back the treasure' to one's 'tribe'. Of course society itself could be 'the cave/dragon' itself ... Endless philosophical project it is!

Great chatting with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36