You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindseye - Tides [Beat Battle League | S2:R6: Tropical Paradise]

in #dsound6 years ago

I imagine there are quite a few artists who have gone 'free agent' since their days on a major label or with major distribution. Or a few reconsidering a comeback, this Steemit would certainly give and get mutual benefit from these types. What I have noticed is, after the adpocolypse on Youtube, especially a lot of alt-new heavy personalities are coming to steemit, just to escape YouTube's censorship. This seems like how the turning point of the old way passing and the new rising, this flight to steemit. We're likely ahead of the rush, a good place to be.

Depending on what kind of work I'm doing, I often can't listen to music, takes too much concentration for me! ;-)

Sort:  

Yes, it seems quite hip really nowadays to be a 'free agent'. People feel like major labels are just going to screw them over.
Yeah I guess escaping YouTube's censorship is a very good reason to come to Steemit. However, I do hope that does not attract too many very controversial people. I have already seen some content on here that is quite questionable. I do wonder how many other (and better?) Steemits will be out there in a year or two. It's an exciting and quite unpredictable development still, so let's see how well Steemit does in the long run!

Yeah, the music I listen to does depend a lot on my activities as well. I have quite a few playlists on Spotify that actually help me concentrate better if anything.

I was thinking about this comment thread yesterday while filling out tax return forms ... not a particularly enjoyable task, nor one that requires much focus, just busy paper work. There was annoying ambient noise and indeed, I did notice the effect you describe by listening to some ambient/industrial sound that 'took the edge off' of the annoyance, indeed helping.

I would say that perception of major labels I've considered for quite a long time. My intention was always to get a distribution deal, without any of the 'management' that often kills the artist's creative impetus, if not the artist himself!

I sort of like the controversy, a by-product of free speech, a necessity for social advancement ... Then again, who has time to argue with those who put forth ideas that must be put down? Like weeds in a garden can dominate to the point of the garden no longer yielding viable life. I suppose word of mouth without direct confrontation can keep bad ideas from flourishing. I myself am suspect of anything that looks 'too establishmentary'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45