Mindseye - Tides [Beat Battle League | S2:R6: Tropical Paradise]

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! This is my entry for the Beat Battle League | S2:R6: Tropical Paradise.

This chill deep-house influenced track was inspired by my visit to the tropical paradise of Rarotonga, the largest of the Cook Islands. This volcanic island is truly stunning, as illustrated by its sapphire-blue lagoons, its sparkling white beaches and the amazing coral reef encircling the entire island. I used one of the photos I took while exploring the island as a basis for the artwork. I hope this track stirs up that tropical paradise feeling within everyone who listens to it, no matter where on the planet you may be!

@dsound

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Tides-.jpg

I hope you guys enjoy the track!
Many thanks to the host and the judges, @chiefmappster, @beatseb, @seveaux, and @derekmiller!

ww.png

Follow___.png
.

Sort:  

Great league as your carp

It took me a few tries, but I did get the whole thing in without interruption, some connectivity issues I've experienced these past few days. Anyway, I like that string in the beginning and throughout. Wondering if that is a patch or you play violin also ? The finger snapping sounds fresh recorded too!

DSound isn't always super stable either. Thanks for the comments! I don't play the violin, no...even though it would be interesting to try! :) I used Thumbjam on my iPad, very useful for creating sounds of specific instruments!

All these new tools that do a superb job of replicating the instrument sampled, with high fidelity, realism ... Makes me rethink the effort I put in learning a second instrument ... Some sample libraries and velocity sensitivity programming can really get the nuance of the instrument to come out, like you did here, I couldn't tell you hadn't bowed it yourself!

I know what you mean, still...there's nothing like being able to actually play an instrument. That being said, the fact that you couldn't hear the difference means that Thumbjam definitely is a powerful tool. Especially for producers with limited financial means, who can't afford a violin player to come over every time they need a violin section!

Oh yeah! I had that conversation with someone else who 'pulled a fast one on me' with his sample library ;-) We agreed that besides cost, one can get the whole project wrapped up in the time it takes to just 'talk to the agent' for the session player.

For me it's a personal journey. So many times finding myself in these situations, like drum circles, folk gatherings, all kinds of six stringing going on , but no place to plug in. ...

Very true...and for me personally that is very handy. I'm not a full-time musician, so I have limited time to create tracks. If I was working on my music full-time, I would love to connect more with other musicians, record live sessions, etc. So in a way I'm jealous of that personal journey you're describing!

Funny thing is, "working on music full time" involves a lot of 'agent' work. I wish I could just chill on a few instruments several hours each, everyday, still getting my practice time in, when I can. Another thing, I'm almost grandpa age, it took that long to get here, and it probably won't last all that long, I have some serious decisions I need to make when my youngest turns 18 next year. Then there was that period of about a decade and a half when I was being a full time Dad and holding down those day jobs that eat 60-80 hours a week. Kind of feel like I paid my dues and will still have some 'paying the piper' ahead of me, to be honest ...

Yeah I suppose it does, especially when you're not part of a label or something like that. I suppose you might have more time when the kids leave the house...?? I'm only just starting the whole having kids journey, so I suppose my available time will only dry up more in the coming years...

Wow wow yessss what a tropical deep-house track.

Love how you set the tone in the beginning with those ocean waves and that string instrument.

So cool how integrate so many sounds to create the atmosphere in this one.

Love that sound you bring in around 1:47 how peaceful and serene. And those vocals you have in there gives it that extra subtle element.

And those snaps you have throughout I caught myself snapping along side :)

And such a majestic picture to reiterate the theme. What an experience that must have been.

Appreciate you making time to create this Tropical Paradise-esque deep house entry.

Thanks for the love for the track @chiefmappster! I added those vocals only when the whole track was done already; I felt like something was missing. Great to hear you like them being part of the track!
Yeah, visiting Rarotonga was quite the experience...quite a paradise island. The good thing about living in New Zealand is that there are plenty more of these tropical bounty islands to explore in a few hours flying radius!

Ahhh wow yeah I enjoyed the presence of them for sure.

And wow wow what a paradise you live in New Zealand better explore for all of us :) I gotta make my way down there o weeeee

Yeahh better do it soon before it's overrun by the Chinese!

O snap on it. May this 2018 bring many travels o weee.

Oh yeah, that's totally my style! :-)
If I close my eyes I can see some fancy drone shots from the seashore... The perfect match.
Loved and resteemed

I thought you might like it... :)
Thanks for the resteem!

Blockchain Music voted on your post and followed your Steemit if that wasn't already the case. Keep the the music, stay creative !

blockchain.png

Love the mood! great work!

Thanks @adam-aj! Great to hear you like it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mindseye from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @mindseye-music! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58551.09
ETH 2617.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44