My first music video!

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

I released my first music video for my new song called 'Wildflower'! I'm here to share it with you.

Instagram
Spotify
Apple Music.

Writing the video
Since I produced and wrote the song myself, the story for the video came quite natural. The challenge, however, was to translate this story, in which I (over)explained the metaphors I came up with, into a shot list. The shot list of course didn't need all the symbolism; it simply needed to say what, where and how to shoot. Luckily, the people I worked with were experienced in this and helped me translating it to something tangible and added some great ideas.

The filmset
Before going to the filmset, I didn't know exactly what to expect. I knew that Noah (the girl that was responsible for art direction) understood my ideas really well, and I could see how she was enthusiastic about taking this on. I had a quite detailed image of the first scene in my head. Even when I hadn't come up with a proper storyline yet; I knew how I wanted the first scene. Generally, I'm more of a conceptual guy, rather than a pragmatic one, so I honestly didn't have a clue of how she would make my ideas reality.

When I arrived at the set, I was absolutely amazed by how the decor looked. I couldn't believe my eyes; it was very much how I had imaged it in my head. It was like Noah had looked into my mind and turned it into reality. They'd built a wooden wall and decorated it with the yellow cloth I had given them. In front of it, they'd placed furniture that matched perfectly with the colour of the wall. It gave me a bit of a Wes Anderson vibe, which made it even better.

The song
Besides singing, I also produced and wrote the song. I entrusted my friend, the musical genius 'City Lights' with the mixing & mastering, who polished the song to the best version of itself.

Wildflower is about loving yourself versus loving someone else, and the compromises and sacrifices we make for that. Instead of getting into the symbolism in the lyrics and video, I' m asking you all to just see it for yourself.

Please let me know if you like the song, and if you do: liking and sharing is deeply appreciated!

You can also follow me on Instagram, and add my song to your playlist on e.g. Spotify and Apple Music.

Love!

Sort:  

very good

Thank you so much! :)

Congratulations @nielsjadu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @nielsjadu! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @nielsjadu! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45