Do What Makes You Happy (I Once Met a Wise Woman)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


One man. One Didgeridoo. One twelve-string guitar. One set of foot drums. One megatonne of energy.
Shalom salaam Dsounders & Steemit crew! This song called, **I Once Met a Wise Woman**, with the positive affirmation chorus of **DO WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY** was performed live in the studio as a one-man band to a studio audience one very hot, sweaty Summer's night in Sydney, Australia.

What is freedom?
Not being bound by the conventions and rules of society brings you freedom.
Being present in the moment brings you freedom.
Doing what you love most brings you freedom.
Doing what makes you happy is freedom personified.

It is taken from my Lucky Man album - itunes.apple.com/au/album/lucky-man/377167695.

As with all of my one-man band performances, everything was played by me simultaneously.
NO loops.
Nothing prerecorded.
(Caveat: I did later sing a vocal overdub to add an extra flavour of sweetness whilst the didgeridoo was playing)

Huge thanks to you!


If this Dsound link is dead please click this [Musicoin link](musicoin.org/nav/track/0xc6f06345e0618b4f5e56e95e42ab9aa290866b75)


LYRICS:
I once met a wise woman,
In a time when I was so down,
And she healed my heart of confusion,
Stopped my head from spinning around,
And she spoke of life as so simple,
As long as you're living it free,
And the pain you feel in any moment,
Will just go if you just let it be.

She said, "Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!
Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!"
All else is a waste of,
All else is a waste of your time.

We danced and played in the moonlight,
And we sank 2 bottles of wine,
Although my head had been low,
My heart began to grow,
As my sorrow changed with the tides,

She said, "Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!
Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!"
All else is a waste of,
All else is a waste of your time.

I once met a wise woman,
Who taught my heart how to sing,
And although she is gone,
Her smile lingers on,
Her lessons to all I shall bring.

She said, "Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!
Do what makes you happy!
Do what makes you happy inside!"
All else is a waste of,
All else is a waste of your time.

© & ℗ Nathan Kaye February 2009. All rights reserved.
The song itself was written in 2006. © Nathan Kaye 2006.

I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…


Please make sure you vote for @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @followbtcnews as witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses. These beautiful beings do lotsa good.


Thanks so much for commenting below
(because I'm hoping you're about to ).
If you felt the vibe of this article, or it's helped you shift perspective,
please do click upvote, click resteem, click follow and comment.
Let's connect, be friends!
I'd really love to hear from you.

I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…

Also, I'm a proud helpinaut!
Visit @helpie to find out what that means and
to find out if you'd be a proper fit for our discord group!
Helping is the #1 goal!




Mental advisory Conscious lyrics (3.5cm).jpg

Nathan-Kaye-Steemit-Banner-01.jpg

► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You are awesome for sure with the didgeridoo, mate

Hah! When I read the title, I thought you were gonna sing Sheryl Crow's song - if it makes you happy 😅

I came upon a quote this morning just after listening to your song. I tried finding the person who wrote it but I am getting many different names unfortunately.
'You're going to be happy' said life, 'but first I will make you strong'

It made me think of your song, so I came straight here to let you know. I think it is most fitting. It is a happy day today :)

Definitely one of my favourites! ❤️

Nathan I reviewed your song on my latest blog post called DSound Selections Of The Week vol.2 If you like to read it here is the link https://steemit.com/dsound/@allbums/dsound-selections-of-the-week-vol-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26