DSound Selections Of The Week vol. 2

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians this is the 200th post! This week I've listened over 600 original songs that has been shared on DSound. A quite dedication isn't it? It was very hard for me to pull out 20 songs out of 600+ songs. I'm going to give a brief explanation on how I choose the songs. First of all I'm not listening to covers no matter how good it is as I mentioned in the "Episode I" this blog post belongs to original works. Rarely there will be exceptions on this rule, RARELY! Sound quality, vote count, comment count doesn't bother me while doing this. I'm trying to celebrate creativity, originality, quality and sincerity of your works. 

It has been 8 days since last weeks selection that's because I wanted to post on Monday to make it like "Discover Weekly" as Spotify's

Let's mention about some problems on DSound. When you upload your songs as a WAVE file it is very hard to listen it as it is not loading succesfully and takes time to listen no matter how good your internet connection is. The genres most shared on DSound are Hip-Hop and Electronic and I have to say there is lack of creativity in HipHop. I've listened lots of HipHop productions this week and most of them sounded same. 

Who am I featuring this week?

@ko-may @podycameron @spawnband @michaellsdeep @davidfar @theatreofdelays @theomgbrand @nickspydiver @terranoise @atomcollector @gjart @bipolar @thisisbenbrick @bigbagbenji @faithcalls @darrenclaxton @jeffleinwand @d-vine @avesa @starfinger13 @nathankaye @soundlegion

The list isn't a ranking, it is created chronologically. To listen to song's all you have to do is click on the song's name the link will take you to DSound. The images are taken from the artist's DSound posts.

For the artists that I've commented on your song and it isn't got elected I'm truly sorry about this.

Let's See The Reviews

1. @ko-may - Meteo Shower

Shibata's first post on DSound is a piano improvisation of his and it's released on his first album. Time bending off-sync left hand is quite decisive on improv's structure and the right hand takes you through many places as you follow. This Berklee graduate Jazz Pianist Mr. Kobata is definitely worth looking for. 

2. @podycameron - Drowning

A spacy keyboard on backing with chilled trap beats gets glamarous with Cameron's vocals. Deeply reverbed voice accompanies him on chorus and there is almost no bass on song which is why kicks are balancing the arpeggio. There aren't lots of instruments to listen but I bet you won't be needing it after hearing his lovely vocals! A fresh song to pull-out.

3. @spawnband - Sax On The Beach

It is fun to listen to them every time! Spawn band's approach to reggae with their brass instruments and ska touch is unique. Engaging orchestra producing catchy melodies through the song. Lyrics are an invitation to dance and happiness in a quite funny way. The intro and outro consists vinyl sound which gives the song an old record feel. They knew this piece is timeless that's why they made it. Aren't you?! Spawn Band consists of talented musicians and they produce accomplished songs. If you like this song I also suggest you to listen Respawnsibilities and Skarantino as well.

4. @michaellsdeep - Burning Stars

An upbeat dance song which has an early French-house influences in it. Can easily be a commercial song for passion themed ads. A robotic synth lead which hits ghost notes supported with a funky bass riff and a high cutoffed creamy synth pad are delicious. Production quality and usage of effects are very nice for those midis. But hey let's be honest those lyrics are not necessary and it's killing the vibe mate.

5. @davidfar - Desert

Very simple production (don't prejudge simple is better) and it has a high motivated clarinet blowing the misterious notes. Davood is a very talented artist, he uses notes for exact emotions. A slow start with the strings and guitar turns into a monstrous jam through the end. Song is very meaningful, in my opinion it tells a story of a lost woman/man on desert seeing a mirage while trying to get back. Emotional!

6. @theatreofdelays - One Second Before Awakening

An intro that builds a tension slowly with an arpeggiated guitar suddenly bursts around and creates a harmony between drums and synths. Attractive arrangement that has been sprinkled with quality effects. One of the most complete electronic music production this week. Theatre of Delays has a solid sound on his album Retroactive but must admit this one is my favourite in the album.

7. @theomgbrand -  Sean David - Broken Hearted

It doesn't matter how long it took this song to listen. Worth it. Sean's timbre is very cool and it's very close to Justin Timberlake. The most beautiful RnB/Hiphop production this week. Impressive vocals on a such powerful orchestra as cherry on top. A familiar piano melody supported with a slide guitar on soulful melodies. The song suddenly takes you back to millennium vibes. Nostalgia!

8. @nickspydiver - Galaxy by Orphic

This song is produced with an Atari computer which only has 2 mb memory. Quite impressive as if you listen to brass and drum synths Nick made sure they sounded the best way possible. Besides the production the song has an intro starting with an "Extra Life" sound and a reverbed xylophone sounds like you are jumping from one star to another. Groovy song with engaging drums that carries you along the galaxy!

9.  @terranoise - FoodNFeeling

This song has a different feeling no matter how much glitches it contains it is continuing to keeping the listener on track. Arrangement is very interesting it always surprises you. This song doesn't love the ones who doesn't like surprises. It didn't rhyme my bad! You can hear the influences of many French-House producers on this song especially Kavinsky and Sebastian. Sampling 101 from @terranoise. The truth is I'm really sad for this song as it isn't released. But HEY DSound Exclusive!

10. @atomcollector - Peaceful Tranquility

The song starts with a panning sound which is followed by a beautiful guitar riff which reminded me of America's works. Mixing could be better on this song as it has confident vocals but it is staying behind the guitar riff. I would have preferred a double bass instead of electro bass BUT  a stylish song from @atomcollector and my favourite on the album. Trust me you will be amazed when he turns on falsetto.

11. @gjart - White Tshirt

Vocal melodies are enormously good on this one. Song has an upbeat rhytm supported with a gated sequence and a moral motivation "You can dance all night with me" Of course honey! I will dance with you all night even though I'm tired. I can't deny that voice. Strong melodies with punchy vocals on a happy atmosphere. In my opinion this song needs a radio edit because sometimes over usage of the synths can be distractive. With some little touches this can be a summer hit!

12. @bipolar  Blayr - Taste

This week's second meeting with Jemarcus Bridges. Damn he is a very talented sax player to listen. This song is a absolute stunner. Soulful melodies from talented instrumentalists. Emotional lyrics which gets edgy on the chorus with Alex Blairs wonderful vocals. It gets stuck at some points due to uploading or some mistake while rendering. But don't worry video is coming soon. "Baby I Can't Take It Anymore! I Need Your Sweet Video Tonight!" A powerful funk ballad to feel some sweet love.

13. @thisisbenbrick - More Than My Life

There's a reverbed one flat note behind that chord progression keeping it together but that third chord is really really bad "swipe left". The song has a chilled athmosphere with Ben's calm vocals. Production quality is really good, the most beautiful part of the song is where he bonds vocoded yeahs with high quality strings back home.

14. @bigbagbenji collab @laritheghost - Benji Vice Lay Up

I liked this fresh approach to HipHop. Arpeggio on the guitar and the total sound of the song reminded me of Petit Biscuit's works. Lari the Ghost shines on this song with his trappy rhytms. An earworm chorus with offensive lyrics not my thing but there are lots of people who likes it that way. Long story short; fresh song, cool vocals, uninspiring lyrics.

15.  @faithcalls - Vendor

For me it is very easy to see Kaan's influences on his productions but everyday he keeps adding more value to his book and he is going to build an engaging sound I'm sure. Song has a very chilled vibe through with upbeat percussion hits which actually smoothing that dance feel. There are lots of hidden melodies in the song that completes the production in a clever way. Deep House lovers get involved!

16. @darrenclaxton - @d-vine - @jeffleinwand - Was It Right

If you are listening these three artists regularly then this song will make you happy in a different way. I've listened most of their work and can easily seperate the song to three. But no they are really really cool together. If you're listening to Darren you can hear some Coldplay on his works which is very distinctive because he writes really good lyrics. On Mr Leinwand's visionary popping mono synths giving the happy feel with solid beats. This song smells summer folks, keep smelling it.

17. @avesa - Paper Adventures

Weed influenced lyrics? Maybe. Avesa has unexpected vocal melodies on this song, he gets crazy and then a sudden he settles down. There is a punchy bass with a pulsing synth accompanied by unusal rhytms this song has been described as "Galactifunk" by him and it is very accurate. The samples he made using his own voice was the thing I wanted to hear more. Xylophone touchs are simple and creative. I don't want to disrespect in any way but the synth pad could have been better.

18. @starfinger13 Wetness - 1983

You've all missed this powerful dance song. Shame on you guys! These two guys have the potential to be the next generation dance music kings. A strong combination of a gritty bass with their DJ skills made this song a dance floor burner. If you've liked Daft Punk's early works you can hear a resemblance on chorus to their works. Keep an eye on these two creative young man.

19. @nathankaye - Do What Makes You Happy

This is the song that has very different guitar riffs than the ones I've listened on DSound. Nathan has created a strong ambiance with his kick, didgeridoo and guitar riffs. His vocal range is very wide through the song over inspiring lyrics. Who's up for some didgeridoo beatbox? An uplifting ethnic voyage. Must Listen.

20. @soundlegion - Ralph Sequel feat Bonnie Legion -Under The Skin

This is the song you might hear on radio stations on the next days. Quality production. It never lacks the energy which is a vital requirement for an EDM song. Synths that has been used on song are placed very wisely and it is supported with a piano arpeggio. Instruments fading out when the vocals came in, this is a clever move because it gets supported through the chorus which gives extra energy to listeners. Even though it can be predictable at some points but isn't EDM being predictable all the time?

BONUS: @puggle - I Love Wheelies

An interesting and an original song which is made by the motorcycle sounds she captured on youtube. 


Finally I've managed to finish this post. It has took me hours to do it. Please give me feedback on how can I improve this blog series. By the way I'm aware that some of the songs can't be rewarded anymore. I will try to keep this in mind on the next episode. Love you all! Thank you all for your submissions and kindness.

A special Thank You to DSound Community as accepting me in to your family!

Happy Producing!

Untill next time!


Sort:  

This is utterly amazing @allbums!
Thank you for checking out our music!
I had so much fun creating this remix of @darrenclaxton's song with @jeffleinwand <3
Jeff & I go by Ma.De as a producer team, I can tell you but pssshhh... there is more to come <3

Thank you again for all this work you put into putting focus on us musicians!!

Huggins to ya @allbums <3

Ah thank you very much! We are all musicians on this community and we are getting fed by applauses of fans but the most important thing is respecting each other's efforts and celebrate it. As Tavernier brothers say; "I'm always one work ahead of critic" you guys are always one work ahead of me. What I'm trying to do is giving the audience a positive direction on your works and creating a bond with talented people who kind enough to share his/her works :)

Hey! Thanks so much for the prop ups and for including my philosophical one-man band jam in such an awesome list of great tunes!
Blessings and good vibes to y'all!
Smiles,
Nathan

I must admit you know how to create a trance atmosphere with acoustic elements. It's a big talent. Thank you for stopping by Nathan :) Looking forward to hear more from you :)

Thanks for the review ! upvoted and resteemed!
Cheers

Thank you, I haven't listened your album yet but going to listen on weekend for sure will give you feedback if you like :)

Thank you so much for including me! This is an awesome curation collection! So many dope artists on here.
And you were close when you said inspired by weed lol. More like I was hanging out with Lucy in a sky of diamonds. heh heh.

into the great beyond.gif

Hahahaha it has to be more fun and more dreamy I guess. Thank you for stopping by and commenting glad you've liked it :)

Thank you so much, this is the second Review I read, you write really thoughtful and I really enjoyed reading the reviews here, specially when I saw my work's review, really thank you :)
peace!

Im glad you liked it, you are very talented its always a pleasure to listen your works :)

Big ups to @allbums. Thanks for supporting me and @bigbagbenji 's work

Thanks for offering us a beautiful collab :)

Thanks for including our track :-) I'm interested in your comments and just wanted to clarify if the 'radio edit' you suggest should be shorter (ie cut out some of the synth sections) or did you mean less synth layers in general? Cheers!

Thank you :) Im going to send you a pm through discord I remember you were at the SMA discord right ?

Thank you so much for writing a great review! I am very pleased to introduce it. Your choice of music is all wonderful!

Thank you Mr. Ko-May, I'm sure I will surprise you tonight with another post :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The song suddenly takes you back to millenium vibes.
It should be millennium instead of millenium.

Thank you for correcting bot.

Hey! Thanks for choosing Was It Right 🎶
I enjoyed your review! I hope it doesn't get stuck in your head too much because it's a catchy song!
Cheers again
Darren

No Darren it's already stuck I was singing and trying to imitate the synth sounds as whoop whoop whoop :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47