You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Day, Just Not Today (My Original Poetry) - Written and Audio Versions

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Your poem is a short story. I can see your pain and hope intertwined. Knowing your life story I can see where this poem came from. From the deep anguish of our hearts come hidden treasures that sparkle bringing us one step closer to the light.

Sort:  

It is a poetic style short story, in a way. I mixture of the two. And I certainly try to convey a sense of the despair and the hope, that the two exist simultaneously, crossing paths, so to speak. Thanks for your comment :)

I, not knowing anything about your life story, am left curious. At first I thought that it may be struggles with depression, but @mineopoly's comment makes me think it's something that happened. Not knowing the details, I'm not sure this would help, but there's something I do that has so far always managed to bring me to a place of centeredness: I'm an atheist, so I don't have what many cling to: faith. ... Instead, I think about existence. The existence not of myself or any one thing, but that anything exists at all. I try tackle the impossibility of imagining how much time has gone by since the universe started, and the vast empty space of which the universe is mostly made. I pinpoint myself in all this, and then willingly and joyfully lose myself in it. I become not-myself, my consciousness expanding into everything. With this, I'm momentarily filled with a liberating peace/gladness.

More background details can be found here Who is Naquoya?

This particular piece is from a sense of depression that has come in waves over many years. I have tried many ways to deal with it, except pills, as I personally prefer to feel what I feel. This is just me, and my way of being. Things such as meditation help, possibly similar to what you discuss. Problem is, often one doesn't feel up to doing such a thing at the very moment it is really needed.

A very recent bout of the blues lead to this piece, and just how I was feeling as I rode the wave through it. I have good days. Lots of them. I have very good days. Unfortunately I also have bad days. This writing was just me coming to terms with that.

Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.76
ETH 3506.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54