You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiding Verses: Not All Men

in #dsound7 years ago

As a man, and a man who spends a lot of time thinking about how men are, I read around a lot about this topic. And I have learned to stop saying "not all men", because I understand how it sounds when we are discussing the way men can be.

You know, this is a male privilege thing, and this is where the confusion develops. Men do not grow up being objectified and harassed, so we lack empathy, and when someone who had a lifetime of objectification and harassment isn't entirely circumspect with the language that they use, there is no need to point that out. And the need to point it out demonstrates how precious men can be.

You may have implied I might be like that Versus systematic harassment and abuse...it's a no contest and a no brainer.

Sort:  

This comment is A+ in importance to me. Thank you for choosing honesty and humility via compassion.

I appreciate that - really - but you don't owe me any thanks.

If the political climate (not just the #metoo thing, but it is a big part of it right now) right now demonstrates anything, it is that there is too much divisiveness, too many people viewing the world as "us" and "them".

Why wouldn't I want women to be treated with respect? I have a wife, a daughter and a mother, not to mention countless friends that I love dearly. I am utterly ashamed to be a man sometimes, and I think we have finally reached a tipping point.

Anyway, please keep up the good work, and thanks for the interaction. Means a lot to a newbie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41