You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lessons Learned From a Dying Man - Written and Audio Versions

in #dsound6 years ago

You know, I've been meaning to do something like this for several months now. I've often played with the idea of doing an audio version for A Day in the Clouds but I never got to it. I actually started drafting an audio-only story, so that's still at play. But, enough about me.

Mate, this is really heart rending. Coupled with your voice, this story really pulled on the heartstrings. Not ashamed to admit it, my eyes glazed up a bit. I read it as I was listening to your voice. It's not what I expected you to sound like, but now I'll only ever read your stories with that voice in mind. This is just all kinds of awesome, and I feel like this is up there as your best stories here so far. Amazing job with this, brother!

Sort:  

I should have done it in my Aussie accent. Forgot about that. I have had the idea for awhile, and I've noticed others starting to do this also, so I figured why not. Give it a go. Hopefully I wont come out of it a complete twat. So far so good it seems. You should give your idea a go. See how it works out.

It was deep, it just came out of nowhere. The best way I can describe it is like I was having a conversation with my future self (and he was trying to steer me on a different path so as not to end up as him).

Glad you could feel this one. I wasn't too sure if it would translate well or not.

It's becoming a thing? Huh... Might just wait for it to die down before I post mine haha!

Yours was done so beautifully, mate! Never think otherwise. I think it's a great complement to the story. Having the actual author's voice beats other narrators. I've been into audiobooks for the past months, so reading the text while listening is an awesome experience.

Hopefully if doesn't become too much of a thing. I saw a few recent posts. So no discernible trend that I can see, just yet.

Thanks for the encouragement. I was actually pleasantly surprised, but it did take a big shake up of my generally introverted self to put that out there. Glad I did do it though.

Man, I'm glad you decided to go through with it! I hope it did give you some much needed catharsis!

It did yes. It was another challenge to face (in my own time) and overcome. 2018 has started well. That's a good sign.

Onwards and upwards, I say. Never mind the bumps, let's just focus on the successes!

Sounds like a plan. Best way to use our precious time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71