Steem Monsters Music - 'The Splinterlands' (Original Music Score Teaser)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Title: The Splinterlands

Composition by @isaria.
Arrangement by @harrisonmir.

goblinsorcerer.png

A few weeks back I got to chatting with @aggroed and @isaria about the music score for the super-hype, new, blockchain-based collectible card game called 'Steem Monsters'. At that time, the hype had found me first, as I had already purchased my starter pack and [too many] booster packs. Being a fan of CCG's myself, naturally I was stoked at the prospect of working on the music for this project.

Isaria and I fell into a great routine for bringing these tracks to life. I've said it before and I'll say it again: she's a brilliant composer and it's so fun to get these awesome ideas from her to work on. Typically, she'll record a video of the piece, and I'll study what she does and work on my interpretation of her work in an orchestral score. This is the format we used for this piece, and I honestly didn't stray far from her composition on this one. In fact, the structure is almost exactly the same, it's just in the form of a full orchestra.

I laid the bed/chords down first with some great Native Instruments Kontakt libraries ('Damage' for the percussion), and then went into my Friedlander violin for the lead. To get an authentic sounding violin with synth emulators is pretty tricky, and it can be dangerous to get too ambitious with 'real' sounding instruments. Writing this stuff takes a lot of 'masking' to make sure nothing sounds fake, because one second of unintentional synthetic sound can break the immersion. Overall though, I'm very happy with how it's coming out so far. I'm going to work a little further to really get that humanization right in the vibrato and portamento. I plan to add a few more bells and whistles here and there to keep things interesting, but I'd say this is a fantastic start.

I actually live streamed some of the process on DLive a couple days ago, which you can watch here.

Steem Monsters is looking to be such an epic experience for CCG lovers, and I plan to bring my A-game to make sure the music score reflects that. Stay tuned for more Steem Monsters epicness!

Much love and thanks for listening!

earthbannertest.png
Graphics by the talented @calumam.

Follow @steemmonsters for more news and updates!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

You dlived (note the creation of a new verb) yourself when you were working on this, I remember.

Indeed I did! I think it's a little more solid now from when I was working on it in DLive, but concept remains!

And I love how many new words come into my vocabulary on a regular basis from Steemit 😆. I'll likely be DLiving (figured I'd nail down the future tense here) more tunes in the future!

Dliving is the new snapping... tis how it werks..

This song is awesome. It reminds me of my favorite show, Game of Thrones.

I'm a big GoT fan so I take that as a huge compliment! Thank you @zintarmortalis!

Excellent job! I can remember watching Isaria play it on piano a couple weeks ago.

The production quality is fantastic, you really brought it together nicely. Epic!

Thanks @calumam, much appreciated!

You were chosen for my 🎧 DSound TOP5! 🎧 on Sunday - Thank You!

Yay! Dsound actually decided to work for me this time... Haha! @harrisonmir your talent surprises me with every new composition you throw out here! It's absolutely beautiful! You and @isaria make a great team!

@rockchickjen you're awesome, thank you! That means a lot!

This is perfect man :) loved it!

Thank you @davidfar! Really glad you're diggin' it dude.

This is awesome! It has a very epic feel to it, definitely gets me even more excited for the future of steem monsters.

Thanks a lot @blueteddy, super glad you like it! I'm stoked too. This is just the beginning!

Yeah this is amazing ,also nice production man .
Great style !

@harrisonmir This post of yours has attracted

Congratulations @harrisonmir! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86