Feeling Good by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Feeling good.jpg

Hello friends,

I recorded this version of "Feeling Good" by Nina Simone 2 years ago, it was winter, I had long hair and a very bad sniffle.People tend to forget that winter in South Africa can be very cold. I was wearing a jacket while recording, and trying to keep warm jumping up and down :)

You can actually hear me sniff between each breathing. So yeah I was not "Feeling Good" that day, none the less I managed to record a decent version, of this masterpiece.

This is probably one of my favorite song from Nina Simone, the way the original starts with her haunting voice , it gives me shivers just to think about it.(in a good way)
My knowledge in sound recovery and treatment is much better than it was at the time of the recording, and I decided to spend some time on bettering it.
I've added a reverb, a compressor, a gate, and equalized the Stereo Master.

Here are the lyrics of this wonderful song, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do .

Birds flyin' high you know how I feel
Sun in the sky you know how I feel
Breeze driftin' on by you know how I feel
Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me
yeah, its a new dawn its a new day its a new life for me ooooooooh
AND I'M FEELING GOOD

Fish in the sea, you know how I feel
River runnin' free you know how I feel
Blossom on the tree you know how I feel
Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me
And I'm feelin good

Dragonfly out in the sun you know what i mean dont you know
Butterflies all havin' fun you know what I mean
Sleepin' peace when day is done that's what I mean
And this old world is a new world and a bold world for me

Stars when you shine you know how I feel
Scent of the crime you know how I feel
Your freedom is mine, and I know how I feel
Its a new dawn, its a new day, its a new life for me
(Free styling)
OH I'M FEELING GOOD

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and YOU get rewarded 1SBD if you're chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you, and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)
Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!

#edprivat #cover #guitar #Nina #Simone



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Very well done! You are a great singer with lot's of feeling. Thanx for sharing your recording!

That's a dope thing to read ! thank you so much for taking the time to write this. I will come back upvote your comment once my voting power is higher again

You are welcome and thx for promising to upvote :-)
Looking forward to hearing more of your recordings in the future.

I upvoted it anyway :)

Have you already heard of the weekly #openmic contests run by
@luzcypher ?

https://steemit.com/openmic/@pfunk/hey-did-you-know-there-s-a-weekly-steem-open-mic-contest

With your skills this might be exactly your thing :D

Yes thank you ! I think it's a wonderful contest, unfortunately only want song recorded on Youtube to make it easier for @luzcypher to go through all the content.
I don't use Youtube very often as it screws little artist like me over , I told @luzcypher already about it .I partcipated once and didn't win so I think that's it for me , I don't want to upload too many videos on youtube. Thanks anyway :)

I was not aware of the YouTube restriction, I don’t really understand why do they not accept dTube ...
Anyway, looking forward to hearing more of you in the future.
Btw are you interested in musical collaborations?

Yes I am always interested in collaboration !

No words to describe your singing.
I had became a big big fan of you.

That is just the best moment of my day when I get comments like yours ! Please more more haha!

Thanks.
Sure!
I am there always with you to support and encourage you.

Yay thanks :)

It's my pleasure and a fan's promise to you.

Omg so jazzy and easy listening very good. You never cease to amaze me @edprivat

Thanks for your kind comment @arhaynez I will keep on trying my best :D

well it's very beautiful! I love your work!!

Wow man, freaking epic voice! Plus I love this song, amazing work :)

Thanks so much :) REALLY and thanks for the resteem @newenx !!!

Fantastic voice and great guitar play!! Perfect for a Balinese morning :)

Thanks friend ! I hope your Balinese morning is sunny and warm

Of Course! 6AM I am out jogging! Tomorrow I make a awesome rice field round!

Lol 6 am that's the spirit hahah

Love this man. So talented singer

Thanks buddy :)

Awesome layout all the way through!! Challenge!!! So, my wife a future Steemian, would like to hear your creativity on....."Better Days" by Anthony Hamilton

OMG ! Ok so we're upping the level a little , I mean I love your first choice Phil Collins is a great artist but yeah Anthony Hamilton is killing it efortlessly especially that song the high voice is amazing.Ok it's noted in my little magic book :)

CONGRATZ TO YOUR WIFE ON coming on the steem boat!!! my wife @lionmom just started but she is very shy so I am pushing her :) . Do the same bro !

If picked, Yeah man you'll have to take your time with that one! But we're excited to hear your take on it, it's a classic in our home. And once my wife's name is up and going @dandidii, will mos def have to introduce the wives for Steemit support and breakaway from shyness lol Continue to Enjoy Your Day!!

Alright give me a week or two , I take my time for songs like this .Enjoy your day too welcome to your wife, and remember to push her pressing the publish button cause it seems to be the hardest part apparently

Lol! Awesome on 2 weeks! And Copy will do!

hey..its so.nice. i really like.this so.much..because i love light song..dear..i enjoy this song.so much..thank you so much for sharing..

Hello @afrinsultana how are you today ? Yes I know you don't like big instrumentation hahah . Wait for tonights song guitar voice again :)

ok

dear...thank you..

i.am.fine..and.your kid and wife.you???

Thanks ! The kids are great they're running around their grand mother is here , my wife's mum . How is the family on your side your sister and the little one?

oh..my sister baby ill...so we feel tens..pray for him..dear..

I will pray too, daughter sick here as well good luck!

hmm..i will pray also for your child..bye take care..

Glad to see your improvement day by day,thnk u for sharing

Thanks for your words of encouragements they are not wasted !

Thts my privilege and i will not loose it brother

damn that's deeep!

Yea brother

You got some soul in that voice brother!!! Sing on!!!

Heheh thanks I love your last trap instrumental

im bout to go thru your whole playlist!! you got crazy vocals bro real talk! I bet you its no Auto Tune either huh?

I like using Auto tune as an affect you know what I mean ? I am not totally against it I don't really use it well. There is a nice Melodyne software that I want to learn how to use

Nice Rack you put every time, I love it ! I work on Cubase mostly but I love the sound that you get from Reason let's do something together ?What do you have in mind ?

Yea i know exactly what you mean! The newest Auto Tune is real dope, i haven't had a chance to use it myself but it sounds really good just with your natural voice, but the fx is dope too. Melodyne is dope too. Let's work! I think you would sound dope on anything hip hop i can go alot of directions! Maybe some boom bap drums with a dope sample type melody?

let's chat ! I loooove all of your prods, I love crucial or sundayschool I thought maybe a Frank Ocean type of vibe your sound is just mind blowing

Yessir I will be hitting you up! I found you in discord too if you in there!

Cool alright I might try someting on one of your track this weekend if you dont mind :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88