Codename: machine dream (original spoken word)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

Codename: Machine dream

original spoken word poetry
a capella preview of
a forthcoming
release


android_by_macfixed-damsbxk.jpg


android_by_macfixed-damsbxk 3.jpg

.
-------Check out-------
-----the a capella version-----
---of "Codename: machine dream"---
-----on @dsound at the-----
-------links below-------
.
► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)


android_by_macfixed-damsbxk 2.jpg


Hook:


Listen to the blasts as they come through the stereo
Be careful with the rhythm of the ruts that could bury you.
Machine dream gradually tragically coming through,
A tortoise shell ancient greed scheme manically shifts the hues.

Verse I:


Check in at the factory, now you know what to do:
Put the part on the conveyor connect the layers.
Some assembly required by the human vibrational construct,
This is our tribulation in which we're dumbstruck;
Mechanical gestation, it's more than just dumb luck.
We're sumstruck by the overwhelming dark morass.

Entangling fumes from the cemetery city of sewers,
The chill of the poison cellars of the drug brewers.
Sell the poison on the street like the proper stewards
Of the nightmare fallacy hell-symphony,
The endless grind that's effacing our sanity
Not outright but most intricately.

As long as it's complex it destroys us gently.
As long as it shines it strokes us mentally.
As long as we're rich then we'll stay happy
In the false smile of what's called luxury.

A luxurious poverty indeed...
When we're fully isolated crying out in need
Of something more authentic we crave connection:
It's still available to our quaint selection.
So when the next election comes around,
Just elect yourself and rebuild the town.

Hook:


(And don't forget to)
Listen to the blasts as they come through the stereo
Be careful with the rhythm of the ruts that could bury you.
Machine dream gradually tragically coming through,
A tortoise shell ancient greed scheme manically shifts the hues.

Verse II:


All those jagged torn up years—
Synthetic endorphins and alliances that morph into
opposites and friendly faces fade no longer kinship,
But I can remember when our love still felt limitless.

Serendipity our witness, ether our judge:
Solemn & playful expecting to consecrate our holy trudge
Through mountains, flatlands, and oceans of circumstance.
Scenery shifts, notions blip, phantasmagoric luminance.
Ruminating on choices, faded voices, song of sorrows and joy.

Escaping the rope loop trap ploy, made snap to rip,
Blat to trip, noise trick trigger levers, load the anvil to smash us
Unless we pass on rash decisions that could rend us:
It requires the wisdom to defend us. May we stay tuned in &
God willing our success will never end, not a threat but a surety.
Temptation can knock my door but it won't lure me.
Call me weird, call me quirky, but surely I'll be here
I'm just working, softly lurking, a ninja, & words are my shuriken.


industrial_by_macfixed-d7i786x.jpg


industrial_by_macfixed-d7i786x 3.jpg

Notes & acknowledgements


This piece is actually a rap written to @rusty-jernigan's beat "Submarine" which got my imagination churning regarding a potential hypertechnological future: A.I. / everything becoming synthetic / cyberpunk / machine consciousness / sci-fi: those kind of images. It also was a reflection of how artificial and mechanical our lifestyles already have become in the modern world. There is always hope shimmering on the horizon, mirage-like: the potential of humans to develop themselves in awareness, build community organically, and increase the wisdom of their choices by close attention to the feedback the universe gives. This is the longest rap I've ever written, and the first time I started to completely memorize the lines, which is an amazing feeling. This a capella version was recited totally from memory.
.

This track will be released in the upcoming days, so stay tuned! In the meantime, I figured I would record this more laid back, stripped down version to share with all of you. I want to reiterate how appreciative I am of all of your audienceship. Your constant encouragement and generous gifts help fuel me in my daily practice of creating pieces that expound upon different aspects of the mind-blowing reality which we inhabit. I could never list everyone who has supported me over the past seven months, but let me give some special thanks to a few of you. I apologize in advance for everyone I neglect to list: know that I still value you highly! I read every comment that comes through, even if I get distracted and fail to reply, and they mean a lot. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

.
You are all awesome!!
.

@dsound, @rensoul17, @violetmed, @rusty-jernigan, @cosmicvibration, @overkillcoin, @ausbitbank, @josediccus, @dobartim, @cabbagepatch, @lexiconical, @nikez452, @taliakerch, @mineopoly, @reko, @runicar, @omar-hesham, @amiramnoam, @yoo1900, @stackin, @ripperone, @newhope, @redes, @fabiyamada, @jrcornel, @brian.rrr, @bigram13, @mangos, @teamsteem, @fyrstikken, @epan35, @nainaztengra, @mahdiyari, @doctorjohn, @luckyfellow, @penguinpablo, @cecirod1218, @spaingaroo, @pardeepkumar, @crimsonclad, @wandrnrose7, @clayboyn, @torico, @spiritualpower, @carterx7, @onceuponatime, @vlemon, @bitcoinman, @beginningtoend, @msp-creativebot, @hopehuggs, @robyneggs, @mamadini, @sammosk, @juliakponsford, @himshweta, @dana-edwards, @michaelmorcos, @lukakorba, @yahialababidi, @moeknows, @evernoticethat, @jerrytsuseer, @dber, @piaristmonk, @macbaren, @geke, @macchiata, @theaustrianguy, @bitland, @valorforfreedom, @randystiefer, @aftabkhan10, @dragonking, @michaelwilshaw, @louielowa, @kaykunoichi, @nicholas83, @jamesgetsit, @amvanaken, @thethreehugs, @mother2chicks, @poeticsnake, @madushanka, @tastetwist, @magnata, @hyacinthesin, @reynakarina, @blessedben, @fireandspice, @syzmic, @braxton101, @steem-samiam, and so many others!

industrial_by_macfixed-d7i786x 2.jpg

nightcity_ride_by_macfixed-db9g3qc.jpg


nightcity_ride_by_macfixed-db9g3qc 3.jpg
citadel_by_macfixed-dah1ch6 2.jpg

Written & spoken
by @d-pend
2/11/18
.
with the art of
MacFixed

.
1 — "Android"
[cropped]
2 — "Industrial"
3 — "Nightcity ride"
4 — "Citadel"


citadel_by_macfixed-dah1ch6 3.jpg
nightcity_ride_by_macfixed-db9g3qc 2.jpg


citadel_by_macfixed-dah1ch6.jpg


Sort:  

To those who paint verses
with the heart made ink
plastering on white sheets
own feelings and those of others
sad or pleasant moments. Verses that
sometimes shout, heartbreaking verses,
velvet verses, verses that are loves.
thanks @d-pend for your poetry

Great follow up there! @joelgonz1982

Well spoken

Thanks for leaving those lines @joelgonz1982, and you're very welcome. :-)

thanks to you @d-pend, for sharing all the poetry that comes out of your heart every day, you are a very good writer and very inspiring.

And, we are thankful for you, @d-pend, and your many voices, and styles addressing "different aspects of the mind-blowing reality which we inhabit."

What a pleasant surprise to stumble upon my name in your gratitude list (you are also at the top of mine)! I still don't know how to check mentions, here, so was not expecting to see it after I heard your thoughtful rap :)

Thank you, brother Daniel, for enriching the poetry scene on Steemit, and all the support you offer, on so many levels _/|_

You're more than welcome my friend! It has been a pleasure getting to know you and your work and gleaning what I can from your years of experience. I enjoying reading your article about publishing earlier today, as a non-published writer. It's a rather daunting concept, but I can imagine it would be quite magical, as well.

There is a bot on discord that "scavenges" mentions and sends you messages... I believe it's called Gina? I haven't used it myself, though it would probably be wise to, no telling what I've missed!

Have an awesome day Yahia and thanks again.

It’s remarkable you’ve not published, yet, Daniel! But perhaps you do not feel the need to, having such an appreciative audience for your poetic journaling, here, on Steemit.

I’ve heard of Gina, now and then. Upon your recommendation, just began using it :) Upon your instigation, too, I’ve been enjoying dsound! This morning, growing bolder, I posted a new poem I wrote last night on dtube (with special effects :) Your spirit of play is contagious 🤓

Brave New Week, my friend, and may it bring you much joy and Inspiration 🙏🏼

It's so cool @d-pend, I listen to it in Dsound. The words you say sound very touching and very rhythmic. Besides you have a soul in writing a word into a poem, you also have a soul to recite the poem with full appreciation until you feel enter into the words of poetry like a reality. I really like the way you read the poem. I can always get knowledge in a poem. I am very impressed with you. A poem is awe for you.

As my legs to move
eyes staring far ahead
I want you always smile
though I have not known you too far

I know I'm just a candle light
which is in the light of the light
but I hope this beam of light
can always be your light
when thousands of lights have been extinguished

although I do not know you
although I do not know where you come from
but you always make a new passion for me
through a word you say.

Hi @reynakarina thanks much for your heartfelt words :-)
I appreciate you and hope you have a great day!!

Thanks again @d-pend, as you always give me a very good motivation about poetry. Hopefully I can also succeed like you in writing poetry and can share for many people. May God grant me this wish. Greetings to you... :)

@d-pent, Another excellent Dsound indeed philosophy looking lyrics. That's machine's dream. Machine always working in factory and unstoppable working. Machines know humans sadness situations. Seriously machine workers are hard working man. Its tough task. But they are working for life. If not they haven't meals or other needed. You write machine thoughts very smartly. Its too hard meaningful. But clear understand. Excellent digital arts giving more luxury look to this post. Thanks for the inspiration.

Yeah, the life of a factory worker is not easy. Many of those duties are increasingly being performed by robots, which leads us to ask: what will be the "grunt work" of the future? That is, if most manual tasks are able to be achieved by technology, what will then be considered the menial labor of humanity?

The lyrics are outstanding and voice is heartwarming. I have seen a reflection of future in this rap of yours. I am already wondering how that mechanical life will be as we are already changing so much in current era of machine revolution.
I really appreciate your talented creative genius.

Thank you @cheema1. Indeed, it will be very interesting years that we experience in the coming decades - and after we are long passed on from this Earth, as well. Will we cultivate our awareness to a sufficient degree to be responsible stewards of this planet? Or will we succumb to our more base proclivities and destroy ourselves out of unwisdom. I hope for the former, while coping with the possibility of the latter. I appreciate your comment!

It has been since very long that forces of goodness and evil are fighting to prevail over each other. In the end goodness always prevails over evil. I think there are some good stewards to take care of our mother nature. Hoping the same as you are:) Thank You for kind appreciation.

Entangling fumes from the cemetery city of sewers,
The chill of the poison cellars of the drug brewers.
Sell the poison on the street like the proper stewards
Of the nightmare fallacy hell-symphony,
The endless grind that's effacing our sanity
Not outright but most intricately.

This verse is amazingly written I can't believe it's a song, so much poetic effect to the way it rhymes, the way the words Pierce deep into the soul.
It's beautiful how you use words like a fountain deep down with plenty to still serve.

Honestly you've brought months of beautiful sounds, songs and poems my friend thank you too, you've been amazing too, with all the support

@josediccus it's interesting, for years I couldn't find out how you could blend songwriting and poetry, and for me the answer is through rap. I find I am able to address more expansive topics because of the increased speed and flexibility of nontonality (or partial tone.) The part you singled out is pretty harrowing, but so is our society, at times. I so appreciate all your feedback and really enjoyed your @dsound poetry from earlier! Have a great one.

When art runs in the vein, blending the genres will be inevitable, for a long time, I never see the music aspect of you,
But immediately you picked up the pieces I knew that it was about time you started blending it.
My music part is yet to be perfected though .

Thank you too for that amazing feedback on that dsound poem, I'm so delighted

Thanks for the heartfelt message.
This was a great inspiration to play along with the submarine beat @rusty-jernigan. At first is sounds like you are playing around but at one point I can tell you 'aint playin'.

A luxurious poverty indeed...
When we're fully isolated crying out in need
Of something more authentic we crave connection:
It's still available to our quaint selection.
So when the next election comes around,
Just elect yourself and rebuild the town.

You then get into a rap that wipes me out. You are @d-pend and I cannot say anything to add to this one but thank you for sharing this art with us today. I definitely want to hear what it sounds like with the beat together.

Hey @mineopoly, so you caught my chuckle towards the beginning. I love how art can encapsulate every gradation of life from the serious to the jovial. But you're right, I'm getting into the grit of it later on.

Glad you played it with the beat, that's interesting! I don't think you'll be disappointed about the final product. I got a preview and it blew me away with how creative it was. Rusty is an amazing musician.
Thanks a lot for your comment and I hope you have a great week!

Thanks. You worked real hard and deserve some rest. It must be 4am there.

Excellent poem on machine Technology. It has forever changed the world we live in. We're online, in one way or another, all day long. Our phones and computers have become reflections of our personalities, our interests, and our identities. They hold much that is important to us

Great one :) Need to remember the connection-selection rhyme, it can be used on so many things!

"I am glad we have a small connection,
so your posts are in my selection!" ;)

Haha! Gotta have some rhymes to pull out on cue @theaustrianguy.
Have a great one & thanks for all your support!

It's a great pleasure to meet you. I'm Leo.
I will visit every day.

Glad to meet you Leo, I'm Daniel!
Thanks for visiting my blog and for the generous support.
Have an awesome day. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71