An oaken serenity (original poetry)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)

An oaken serenity

original poetry
with reading


harshgrain.jpg


harshgrain 3.jpgharshgrain 5.jpg

Intro notes & recording

Hi everyone! I wanted to try my hand at a longer form poem today. I included some pictures in between the four sections. I'm happy to share with you the daily journal of my life - in abstract form. There are many avenues of life explored in this one, with an obvious fixation on wood grain (the whole universe is in a tiny seed.) I also had an amazing meeting today with some Steemians on the Customer Witness discord server and there are some huge projects in the works that I will blog on soon. In the meantime, I am incredibly grateful for you all, as always! Have an awesome day.

.:Links to the recording:.
.:of "An oaken serenity":.

.:► Listen on DSound:.

.:► Listen from source (IPFS):.


harshgrain 6.jpg
harshgrain 2.jpg


harshgrain 4.jpg


I.

Living in miniature,
I fall inside cratered wood grain:
A termite in the heart
Of the world tree.

Feline avatar of brick, fierce,
Ghosts inside the foundation.
A city built on mistakes &
Rising through a regretful aura
Tinged with colored joy.

Nobody asked the biggest questions;
They sat and sipped lattes.
They studied dead men's theories;
They revel in berry love.

Burnt milk, visions of distant armaggedon,
Someone whispered about paradise
And nondual starvation.
"I will burst the prisons open!"
Someone said.

The intoxication of fermenting millennia,
"Just play by the rules &
Eat at the arsenic banquet."
A pineal spire languishes
Awaiting its resuscitation.


negative-bluegreen-pond.jpg


II.

The people are disney animations.
The streets are glass
That endlessly shatters but
Never finishes breaking.

This rain is powerfully basic;
It is the sky that's acid.

To the inside of gaia
We are a hidden grotto;
We are a rotting treasure trove.

Everything here shows the opposites
But ultimate magnetism peeks
Through the cracks.

I am forbidden to mention
The exact alignment of sigils.
I am constrained to uneasy implication;
I am the pinnacle of political vagary.

This wood grain speaks everything
& the people search hidden angularities
In the stirring resonance of spirit.

I was sleeping through the creation.
I am the sun of the sun—
My heart makes the universe grow.

I am the granular seed—fossilized acorn.
I levitate in the oaken crater & keep my peace.


sharp-red-grain.jpg


III.

I speak soliloquies through a tin can;
I am the glimmer of grain,
A loving virus infecting indifference.

Passion makes the body ash.
I am a singing cadaver &
Scribe of forgotten heartbreak.

People—they forget themselves
Inside the swirling alcove
At the entrance to the coliseum
They are rainbow grasshoppers.

"Nothing is what is is,
But it is associations."
They teach to eager ears,
They guzzle guilt lager.

Anxiety reveals itself to imps,
Worthlessness in laser eyes,
The world eats kettle corn;
The stalk of the stalk sinks low.

Indigo on a waiting morning,
Anthocyanin ears expand.
I am the wood grain balloon,
Sailing in the craters
Of hidden gems.


red-retrovintage-trees-pond.jpg


IV.

The valueless exhausts vessels,
Slakes the ghosts eating the sails,
The vision fades in jagged symmetries
Of this grove of thumbprints.

In the overwhelm, the genuine rises.
The salvation of the unbearable
Is this colorless falcon
In shaky words.

Tomes of precious misery,
The forest is a frustration.
The spirit of dead gargantua
Cry lakes that boil into heaven.

Paradise inside the heartwood:
Aphid communion & dross in a ditch.
The earth readies itself
With ceremonial robes.

Fog revelation—
The speech becomes unintelligible.
The features crinkle & lips meld shut.
Everything is the silence of
These waves of wood.

I am a miniscule atom
In the fifth curve
Of its grain.


purple-merged-woodgrain.jpg


purple-merged-woodgrain 3.jpg
odd-negatived-orange-woods 2.jpg

Written & spoken
By @d-pend
3/1/18

Images created
Using stock images
Provided by Fantasy Stock

odd-negatived-orange-woods 3.jpg
purple-merged-woodgrain 2.jpg


odd-negatived-orange-woods.jpg


Sort:  

If they study dead men's theories, aren't they actually asking the biggest questions? Or maybe you mean that they memorize them without comprehension or participation... When I took anatomy, I remember the Latin names of many of the points of reference would translate into things such as "large hole" or upper bump, and I asked my teacher why we couldn't just write "large hole" since that's what the geniuses that discovered and cataloged them used. It was in Latin then and now as pretense and a way to create class division through education. We see it not only in medicine but rampantly in law and economics. A way to exclude large groups of people from processes (to take advantage of their absences) and make them believe the exclusion is founded, so they play along.

Also I really loved these lines:

The streets are glass
That endlessly shatters but
Never finishes breaking.

This rain is powerfully basic;
It is the sky that's acid.

&
I was sleeping through the creation.

I don't know why but this line just really hits me

&

The spirit of dead gargantua
Cry lakes that boil into heaven.

and this, boil is such a good re-perspectivfier lol

Thanks for the genuine thoughts and reply. I leave it according to your interpretation! I think it could be summed up as the eventual realization that to study others' thoughts and teachings, no matter how revered, is only the beginning step to discovery in any aspect of life. Thanks for sharing that anecdote. I feel that the gulf of humanity's ignorance is extremely wide, yet what we do unveil is no small feat. The sort of pretentious exclusion you mentioned contributes to my calculated contempt for many aspects of academia. I prefer self-education, private education, homeschooling, these sorts of approaches. Hands on is the best, without the extraneous concepts and presumptuousness.

Thanks again for great input and sharing the lines that struck you @kilbride!

I do enjoy the really intense learning that comes from classes or schooling sometimes, though I'm technically a 'bad' student usually because I have a suuuper low tolerance for pedantic tasks lol. But, yeah, I was sorely disappointed when I went to college that so many people were just there fronting or checking boxes on a to-do list "career path". And of course! I write poetry myself, (although much more intermittently)- I know how much energy goes into selecting each word, and how many lines are just stand-alone pieces within a larger piece. It's always interesting to see what parts really resonate with others and how it differs from us.

The tree begins its growth like all living things; it begins with just one cell. A singularity that forms first out of duality delivered on the wind or the wings of the birds and the bees. From there each year pushes out on the previous year's growth, expanding and warping what came before, hardening it too. It is only this way the tree may also grow in height and girth, spread its roots and produce new seeds. At some point each ring was the center of the tree's universe, so to speak, and its growth was the chief shaper of everything that had come before and then it was replaced by new growth and then began to exist only in relation to the new. Our memories, our ideals, and philosophies work this way. Our reality works this way.

"Nothing is what is is,
But it is associations."

Thank you for shifting my awareness and understanding of things with this amazing work in analogy and thought:)

A word of inspiration for @d-pend


It's a candle in a frosty white night throbbing,

storm that incites, that is reborn and threatens,

that lights up as an instant and in a wandering heart,

he transforms and embraces the warmth of his existence.

It is the voice that travels and comes without knowing its dream,

invisible, which is the figure of your logo, praise,

that disguises as pleasure, disdain,

that draws the wind of indelible trace, his longing.

It incites exalted feelings on the strings,

and in the verse it is his feeling of indelible horizon,

it fills when throbbing hearts desolate,

and turns the dark into ethereal, the finite into unfathomable.

It makes transcendent the insensible and what a cocoon,

implosion turning illusion into a dream,

who sings and writes and flies and is lullabies,

It's the one I dare to call inspiration.

Thank you @joelgonz1982 I love your lines. You have an excellent poetic sense. Please consider joining my 100 day poetry challenge which will be announced tomorrow in a post. I think you would do quite well! We will be writing in both English and mother tongues and finding applicable images to fit the lines. Later we will learn how to improve formatting in markdown and other things. There will be daily, weekly, and overall rewards for best creations.

@d-pend It seems good to me ..

I will be pending tomorrow of your publication to see the rule and condition and the tag that will be used .. and thanks for telling me that I have that poetic gift I just imagine something and try to combine the verse and the rest it comes out alone

great art bro awesome poetry.😊

I will never give up reading your poems.

  • Thanks for sharing with us your heart through reading the comments we write and engaging us in your journey. I'm curious to hear more and have some concerns about Steemit and blogging here. I wonder about SP delegation. It seems like a hassle.

  • I read your poem today and have found some answers. You are weaving Aristotle and Michael Eisner. This is a Steem World after all.

  • This is the cycle every day. I am ready to quit and the @d-pend doesn't quit. Instead he reminds me that the nothing I am becomes so important part to many lives. I will do my best to balance and continue in excellence.

Hey there! I tried as much as possible to listen via dsound. But Unfortunately maybe the my server. anyways i'm not really a poetry person but the poet seems nice. What intrigue me the most is those images that goes along with the poet.

I'm patiently waiting for the CUSTOMER WITNESS DISCORD CHANNEL Huge project you going to be Blogging on. your Contribution to the Channel that night really changed my view on steemit. thank you very much! Go d-pend!!!

I liked the overall tone of this poem. I had several moments of reflection personally, thank you for sharing.

Thanks @ryanwolf. I'm glad you took something from it!

So, it was nice to hear you talking alive...It sounded profound and very educational. Love is always multiplied through dealing.

Your poetry although abstract is very real and this current poem scared me...because the absence of God brings this current condition.
So, I felt this poem like explanation of the World condition but what should we do to improve that ? This is what bothers me more 🤔😲😷...

To many zombies on the streets and people living in their prisons, the absence of supersoul is obvious...We need to do something....?

Yep pictures are always good to give a visualization to your thoughts.
And the pictures you select in your posts is indeed awesome.
Applausable.

Its beautiful and I love your voice you put so much feeling in it, life is great with your awesome poems Daniel♥

Awh thank you so much for all the encouragement Ceci :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66