You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Help a Child Cope With Worry

in #dsound7 years ago

Thank you for this post, I have a 17 year old daughter who is borderline asbergers and she fixates on ideas and constantly states - I hate myself and nobody likes me - I find it very hard to get her out of the moment and when she is so upset and lonely I find it extremely distressing to deal with.
Thank you for the advice - I shall try try and try again!! and more hugs of course!!

Sort:  

I know that feeling, nothing you say works, we are working along the distraction route at the moment, watch a funny video, that kind of thing ended up working best, until today when we could finally ask the school why the library was shut.

Keeping me in suspense....... OK then, why was the library closed? and you said, if she does not get 100% that resonates with me because my daughter is the same, she demands my attention 100% and it gets really draining, she dominates her sisters when she is around and they seem to be neglected in comparison, it is hard to get the balance right and she does not understand that they also need my attention, help and nurturing just as much as she does........grrrr!!

The library was closed because it was the last day of term and the teacher who usually looks after it was off sick. I had the parents evening last night, she is quite the angel at school.

Noooooo I hope the teacher gets better soon, there are so many affected by stress and I can not blame them!! If she is an angel at school I think you can give yourself a pat on the back as she is taking your good example forward. I have found that if I wave a small bar of chocolate that gets my teenager's attention immediately - I don't always let her have it though - got to think about her teeth and waistline LOL!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.28