Gymtimidation | Gym Intimidation As A Newbie (ft. Obese to Beast)

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)


Gymtimidation

Sounds like some weird hashtag but this mash up of two words represents a feeling that has been established in many new gym goers. Rightfully so, when you attend a new gym it seems like everyone knows what they are doing, knows where everything is, how to use all the machines and one false move in front of someone and you feel like the world is ending! Understandably so, it's difficult to immerse yourself in an environment built on repetition and mastery BUT it's important to keep some things in mind.

In this podcast episode Obese to Beast and I talk about the many different reasons people experience Gym Intimidation and the MANY MANY reasons you shouldn't let it effect you or the way you work out! It's very important to realize that most people are either 100% into themselves and are not distracted by anyone around them OR they are feeling similarly and are making sure that no one is looking at them making mistakes or whatever...the point being is that there are rarely any times that new or veteran members of the gym will be focusing on you and formulating thoughts about you or what you're doing!

The podcast dives much deeper into the topic and I really hope that all of you enjoy it!


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

I remember my first time at my gym, I was trying to take a look at the pool. I had no idea that the access to the pool was through the locker room. Instead, I walked through the glass door labeled "emergency exit only", to try and get to that body of water. Emergency alarm went off, and everyone in the gym stopped and stared at me. I blended in seamlessly.

You make some excellent points. When I first join any gym, I always ask for a personal trainer. Sometimes it is complementary and sometimes I have to pay separately. Either way, it makes me feel more at ease in a new environment.

That's fantastic. Rare to hear somone say they specifically look for a PT when joining a gym. In recent years newbies try to go for it themseleves . they see no progress , become discouraged and eventually stop going . keep it up !

That's a really good tip, if you have the money for it you can get one session and they'll walk you through all the machines and stuff

This was a much needed topic to be covered.

I have heard a lot of people cover gym related topics, but hardly anyone speaks about this. Motivating yourself to be regular at the gym is hard enough and a lot of people quit being regular because of #gymtimidation.

I hope this podcast reaches a lot of people and they devote their gym time to themselves instead of focusing on what other people think. Thanks a lot for making this.

When you repeat the same comment on multiple post you sound like a bot! If it walks like a bot, squawks like a bot, it may be flagged for being a bot!

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment! / https://steemil.com/steemit-abuse/@spaminator/updated-your-reputation-could-be-a-tasty-snack-with-the-wrong-comment

Thanks @brainturner, I really enjoyed it.

i followed you so i can see more of you stuffs....a follow back will be appreciated

This was awesome, I loved the subject matter of the podcast! You are very entertaining. How long have you been podcasting for? I've been wanting to start my own but I don't even know where to begin.

Thanks my friend and you should do it! I'll make a video about how to do it soon but it's so easy, you can even just start recording with your phone!

Hey brianturne, love you videos man. I'm on my own self improvement journey and i am currently trying to lose allot of weight. I see you have allot of post about health and fitness so i will be needing some of them tips. Keep it up!

I followed you

You got a 62.55% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @brianturner! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75