"Cosmic Bossa / Space Station Muzak" - Austen Ballard [Original Song / Beat Battle S2:R2 Entry]

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



"Cosmic Bossa" is my entry for the Beat Battle League Season 2, Round 2. Leave a comment below if you liked it, and don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow me @ausxen! 🤘🏼

Listen Now on Soundcloud:


The theme for this round of the Beat Battle was "Space Elevator Music". A Space Elevator is a proposed structure that would transport cargo and/or people between the surface of the Earth or another planet and a geostationary platform in orbit. The example of a Space Elevator that most of us are probably familiar with is the one from the Halo series, which gets destroyed in Halo 2 when the Prophet of Regret makes a slipspace jump right next to it.

The Halo 2 space elevator. Source

My track has nothing to do with Space Elevators.


I instead imagined myself standing in the glass elevator of a luxury resort located on a space station several miles above the Earth, on my way from my suite to the indoor pool and fitness center. At the rate Elon Musk is going, this might not just be in my imagination for too long. As I stand there watching the world turn below me, swim goggles in hand and towel over my shoulder, a soft, sci-fi bossa nova spills from the ceiling speakers, confirming that yes, there is still muzak in space.

Ladies, gentlemen, and nonbinary humans, I present for your satisfaction....

Cosmic Bossa: Space Station Muzak.

"Cosmic Bossa" features a phased-out guitar, bass guitar, spacey theremin, pizzicato string patch (referencing a certain Sonic Adventure 2: Battle soundtrack number) and a bunch of percussion, all played by me and recorded in Ableton Live. Samples include "Koka Kola" by the Clash, some satellite sound effects I had lying around from a sound design project, and an elevator ding from YouTube. Still working on the go through a pair of increasingly damaged Skullcandys, so please excuse the sound quality.

Click to listen on DSound / Musicoin


Thanks for listening, and Steem On! Don't forget to upvote, resteem and leave a comment if you like my content. 😊
Follow me around the web:
.
and at austenballard.com
Sort:  

This is a fun song. Yes, I can imagine a space elevator. Going up. Waaaaaay up. And a droid to keep me company. @ironshield

I want all of these things and also candy

Oh I forget space candy. Gum. I can blow bubbles in space. Bubbles in space. Bubbles in space. I should google that someday. @ironshield

I googled it for you

uhhhhhhhh

Great Bossa! ... I had mentioned elsewhere, 'Girl from Ipanema' turned 'Girl from Andromeda' Congratulations!

That's good... and here I was trying to think of a pun on 'Corcovado' (my personal favourite bossa)

Ah yeah, that's a real beauty too ... oh now I recall, AKA 'Quiet Nights' How about instead, 'Quiet Flights' ? or maybe instead of 'Desafinado' , 'Destination, Alpha Centauro' ... gone from bad to worse here, sorry ;-/

that's a real beauty too ... oh

@onemedia move over jobim, we've got tito pun-te up in here

Careful, now, too many puns can leave one feeling Tjadered ...

Hahahahahahah yessssss love your post man :)))

This beat holy smokes man just makes me so happy to listen to.

Love that sound you bring in at 0:41 o weeee and that sound at 1:43
you bring in so majestic.

And this sounds so clear in my headphones so those Skullcandys are doing the job still.

Much love and appreciation for creating this awesome sounding entry. It hit my soul and raised my vibrations all while delivering that outer space vibe to it.

😎 thanks! Glad it doesn’t sound like poop to you. Honestly everything sounds kind of mediocre to me. I need to get back to my nice JBL monitors so badly

You're very welcome buddy o wee do I love this beat. Maybe we can work on something for some new headphones :)

Appreciate you sharing that tune man is it awesome

Hahah I just need to win a couple more of these contests and I'll be able to get a nice pair of Senns or something ;)

O weeeee now we are talking.

Where there's a will there's a way :)

Cool tune man!

Thanks so much! I had a lot of fun making it.

Dope

Thanks :) 🤘🏼

You got a 2.03% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @ausxen!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received a 5.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ausxen.

until your heart blocks me.

You seriously need to figure it out. Many of us have spent years to learn how to play music, and hours on each thing we post. You can't just take things other people made and put them online as your own, and expect to make money from it! Your attitude is vile and disrespectful of everyone who actually tries on this platform.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 22.63% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36