You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drugwars changing direction: introducing new Editorial director, last update postponement, and more

in #drugwars5 years ago (edited)

Credit, where credit is due here. I know my comment on the previous post might have been quite abrasive and colourful, but I just wanted to say how much I respect @hightouch and others on the team for doing this, for taking that backlash and channelling it in a positive way. Admittedly, I wasn't expecting this at all.

This detailed and professional post has diffused me and I would imagine, it has diffused others as well. I am sure we have all seen what happens when Steemit Inc goes quiet and stops communication, the community is absolutely livid.

Despite what people might think, I still enjoy playing Drug Wars. It's not perfect, and really my complaints were centred around how the game has been run and primarily the poor communication, the unprofessional behaviour towards the community. It pained me to see such a promising and popular dApp chop off its own limbs.

Welcome to the team, Petra, and welcome to the Drug Wars community. Thank you for stepping back and realising that big changes should be gradual and users informed. Obyte is a strange choice because of its complexity, so user education is going to be absolutely essential to ensuring a smooth transition.

I want you to know that I mostly support the new direction and team, and where I can help, I would be more than happy to be of service to the team and game. I'm giving the team and game another chance, and I feel good about that and think it's deserved given these big changes.

My trust hasn't been completely restored, but I'm going to keep a close eye on where this goes. Admittedly, if I see the game start to fall off a cliff again and revert back to its old ways, I am openly telling you now that I will not be shy about expressing my disdain and frustration (as you have already discovered).

And I hope this also means that you (Petra) become the face of the community, and handle all communication from here on in. Hightouch should just focus on the development, because his people skills are not exactly up to the standard I would expect for a professionally run operation of this size. Treating the community like animals is a bad business strategy.

I am still not really on board with the idea of a custom token on Obyte. Personally, I think that's a horrible choice because it's not a user friendly option at all. I want to know why this was chosen, did the team receive a large payment from Obyte to use it, is there a hidden agenda in this decision?

I am also putting a disclaimer in the FUTURE Token I registered on Steem Engine to say that it's not affiliated with Drug Wars. A peace offering.

I really do wish you all the best and I am looking forward to seeing what positive results come of this.

Sort:  

As always, your feedback is appreciated and I look forward to reading more of what you have to say. Thank you for this honest and thoughtful comment and thank you for the warm welcome.

Hi Petra,

Do you mind addressing @beggars questions?

  1. Why was Obyte used instead of Steem Engine or a planned SMT by Steemit Inc.?
  2. Was @drugwars paid a large amount by Obyte or anyone else to launch on Obyte?
  3. Was there any hidden agenda with issuing an Obyte token?

I hope that you guys can refrain from issuing Tokens that are not Steem-based for your other projects and another thing you might want to consider is that @aggroed's @steem-engine will be hiring a legal team for the people who issue tokens with them. That may be helpful and can also make up for the fact that it's not a direct SMT token by Steemit Inc.

~ Chris

Right this is how teams evolve and it’s great to see an organization actually step to the challenge (unlike how steemit inc never did...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60