The Old Dog Wonders: Had I Just Walked Into a Dr. Seuss Book?

in #drseuss6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes we get used to our own biosphere, but there are others. I found that out on my recent trip to Tenerife. Trees and plants that I had never even dreamed existed both fascinated me and made me laugh! 

Why do I Mention Dr. Seuss?


I grew up reading the Dr. Seuss children's books where strange creatures, humanoids and vegetation were illustrated. Have you read those books? Do you know about them? If you answer yes to those questions than maybe you can relate to what I saw!

Check Out Some of The Tress And Plants From  my Trip!



These palms just struck me as funny! My photo with image from seusswikia.com added




I kept remembering the funny Dr. Seuss books from my childhood and from reading them to my son. My photo with image from seusswikia.com added



I find these trees to be weirdly wonderful and very Dr. Seuss like!  My photo with image from hddfhm.com added.



A huge volcano has covered much of the island in lava but trees grow there anyway and the Seussy landscape continues!  My photo with image from lclshome.org added.



Lots of food for the imagination in this place! My photo with image from Clipart Panda added.


Here Are Some More of The Strange Plants!


It's so cool to travel to different biospheres and enjoy the diversity of this planet!


What About You?

  • Are these plants familiar to you?
  • What is the strangest plant that you've ever seen?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about the Dr. Seuss like land that I found on my trip to Tenerife.



Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

I bet that Ted Geisel (Dr. Seuss) must have travelled to some places with weird plants in order to get inspired ....

Yes, it would seem that he lived near a park and a zoo and his imagination ran wild with ideas from these resources.

Buongiorno! Have something for you:-)))))

pianta2.jpg

pianta1.jpg

It's also in Spain !

Ooooooh this is a beautiful gift for my fantasy! Thanks so much!

Happy that you like it ;-D

So much

Really weird plants in your article, I'm fascinated by the last one!
I saw some or the cactus of your pictures, I love this kind of plants!
Here some stranges that I meet in a village near mine! ;)
IMG_20180127_145620.png
IMG_20180127_145652.png
Like always great post!
Grande Old dog!

Cool!

Thanks a lot!🙂

These are the weirdest plants I've ever seen! The strangest i've seen is a kalanchoe species - Kalanchoe daigremontiana
Wikipedia picture:

Very intersting!

A wonderful idea for making photos. I like your imagination and your stories filled with kindness!

This was the strangest thing for me :)

735eb98422.jpeg

Yes that is very strange and beautiful. What country is the photo taken in?

Ukraine) This is a sort of pumpkin. Thank you!

Wow! They are indeed beautiful and at the same time strange. I have never seen any of them before. Smile
You did a great job!

Thanks a lot for your visit!

Wow wonderful photography my friend.and..You say right ...Actually you choice great content..Carry on your activity...

Most welcome dear....I will wait your next post...✌✌✌

Our mother nature is awesome. Look at these roots, I loved them. "Trees and loves, while they have roots will have fruits and flowers"
20180121_131748 (1).jpg

Intersting, thanks!

Some very unusual vegetation ! I like the one that looks like a snake tail 🐍 . One of my favorite things when traveling is seeing how different the nature is. One can spend hours watching the discovery channel but exploring yourself in real life is a lot more fun.

When I was in Guangzhou recently I saw a weird plant - but I have no clue what it's called .But I think it looks kind of Avatar like hehe

IMG_1664.JPG

IMG_1662.JPG

Thanks for sharing your Dr. Seuss trees with us!

My pleasure :)

Excellent post dear friend @ kus-knee I share your affirmation, for those who have seen some of their sixty books that I realized thinking about the children will find many similarities with your images, which are amazing and in some cases very funny. Congratulations on the choice of trips, it must have been a pleasant and extraordinary trip.
I am always passionate about the plants that live in other trees, here in my province of Corrientes there are many genuine forests and you can see hundreds of plants that live in the trees, unfortunately I do not have photographs, which I share what I do. example modem of the web.
thank you very much for sharing this wonderful work
I wish you a great weekend.

Wow, you see such wonderful plants where you live?

My province is a large floating island, we are surrounded by rivers, lagoons and estuaries, the environment is very humid which makes it suitable for these parasitic plants to survive in abundance in the trees.

I love that too, do you know the father of all trees? At least that is how the call it :-) the tree it self is as wide as 40 people in a circle holding hands! About one third of height you have the first break in the tree and you see there a forrest on it self ;-) I do have more pics of this beautiful tree. But this one is showing the other trees and plant living in and of the tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42