You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🔸🔶Expect The Best!🔶🔸

I do agree with setting ambitions high. However, expecting might be related to entitlement, whereas ambitious is more linked to achievement. When you expect something and it happens, our rationale tends to be that we are entitled to such experience, we deserve it. However, I prefer being ambitious and anything that you achieve is done through hard-work and earned. I'm not sure if this subtle difference can be understood, but I think it is quite related to your post. All in all, I agree -- never settle for mediocre.

Sort:  

Umm I do deserve it! And so does every life on this planet!! I don’t think I’m entitled. I’m quite thankful for every blessing I’ve received. However you choose to define it, word it... as long as it works for you. 😉

Yeah, I suppose I need to be aware that the same words hold different meanings for both of us. Cultural, Societal and language difference all lead up to this writer-reader interpretation barrier. I guess I must agree; if it works for you, there's no point in me trying to argue about the exact word -- especially if it means differently for us haha

The word entitlement brings a very negative connotation to me. Making me sound like a spoiled brat for believing I’m worth a great life. I work hard. I love hard. I give hard.
Perhaps it’s the climate in USA this last few years also. “Entitlement” is used by the 1% to make hard working people feel guilty about taking their S.S. that they themselves paid for! I do appreciate your thoughtful comments. It’s nice to hear all perspectives. 😀

In no way I wanted to imply you are entitled or a spoilt brat. I just said that to me, the word expectation is linked to entitlement; but that refers to how I perceive the word and not to what you meant by it, in any way.

The USA can be very confusing. Most people do not have the sufficient health care that they should be entitled to. There is something fundamentally wrong with the system, not with the individuals who are able to achieve a good life. I apologise if my initial comment may have come across as a personal attack, but it was simply a discussion on the use of language. Philosophy of language, so to speak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94