Drop in the Ocean: Pride

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

Pride

This week's Drop In The Ocean theme is Pride, which is appropriate as it is Pride Month! The word pride has multiple meanings, and I would like to explore its meaning to differentiate and explain what pride means, at least to me.

So, usually, we equate pride with feeling proud for something that we have achieved. For instance, if I get good grades in my exams, I might feel proud. This kind of pride usually comes with a bar of achievement or merit that has to be reached to feel proud. Obviously, the standards are different for each individual. For some, trying is an achievement in itself, so they will feel proud for trying. Breaking it down, the pride comes from an activity or outcome as compared to a lack of that; thus, this pride signifies some sort of superiority.

peter-hershey-282615-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Peter Hershey on Unsplash

Gay Pride

This concept does not apply to #GayPride. When I say that I am proud to be gay, I do not want to insinuate that being gay or being LGBTQ+ is superior to the rest of the population. One might ask, then why does pride exist? One has to be aware of the historical and social contexts, as this has different meanings throughout the time and place where one lives. For me, to be proud to be gay is to be unapologetic about who I am. It takes a lot of courage to come out and be more feminine than the rest of your peers, to let your actions and identity oppose the religious or cultural norms that you grew up with. I am proud to be unapologetically gay even when it is challenging to do so.

The pride marches are both a celebration and a fight towards equal rights. It is brave for people to march for equality, demand to be treated equally and feel that they are not inferior, especially when the world has tried to oppress and treat them differently. This applies especially to those who are marginalised more by their society. I can only imagine how challenging it might have been to be proudly gay in other historical settings (or in some countries at this day and age).

For me, personally, coming out was a huge struggle, within my religious identity and with my family. I may have suffered through a two-year depression, and it took me some time to accept myself for all I am. I may be more feminine than other guys at times, and I have different interests, but I am done feeling down on myself. I am done with self-pity and shame. I am proud to be who I am. I think the people at @buddyup can attest to how I can be unapologetically gay. There is no reason why anyone should apologise for who they are. That's why "unapologetically" is a motto I live by.

Live your truth and be proud.


Welcome to the Sombre Days


Welcome to the Sombre Days

Would you like to support an indie author who has worked hard on their book? My poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, has been published on Amazon and Kindle. I have also been posting the poems on the steem blockchain. Any form of support is truly appreciated, whether it is in the form of sales, upvotes, comments or reviews.

Latest Poems

Uncharted Territory
Effortlessly
Wolves

Sort:  

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

For what it's worth, I'm proud of you.

Awh!! <3

Heyja! You've got a upvote from @PRP-LGBT, the Curation & Magazine Account for content like yours! Thanks for sharing this jeremy! <3

you syre do have a way with your words.

Very well put. Even in other circumstances it's tempting to hide your truth for the sake of fitting in. Although maybe I have to find my truth first ;)

Truth may be ever changing, and it is okay not to know what it is, as long as you do not go against whatever you perceive as true :)

There is never any need to apologize for who you are - This is your life - live it how you see fit!!! Great post Jeremy :)

Thank you. I agree, I am unapologetically fabulous!! And I am unapologetically saying the word unapologetically too many times!

Jeremy.
sometimes all i need to say is .... i have much love for you, dear boy. (man) whatever hehehehe

<3 Awh! I have as much love for me too!

For some, trying is an achievement in itself, so they will feel proud for trying.

Baby steps, right? haha did make me laugh since I immediately had participation trophies in the back of my mind.

Knowing you in BuddyUp has really been great, and in real life you may need to fight a constant battle with those around you, there is no way you have not inspired at least someone else to maybe look at the world differently.

That is what people get when dealing with someone as unapologetic in who they are as you. You get a slap, that snaps you out of your little simpleton daze and forces people to wake the fuck up.

Great post @poetrybyjeremy
Sentences not too long? :)

Ahaha, well structured sentences, I believe. Didn't spot 7 lines in a sentence today. I'm glad I'm in BuddyUp, and it's great that it has always been an accepting environment and everyone is unapologetically themselves!

Speaking about participation trophies, my mum put 10 trophies on my shelves. They are all participation. There is only one that is different. The nicest one is titled "The Most Dedicated Athlete", because I trained the most out of my school in that year, even though I never won anything (I did get 4th place in Discus Throwing in the Yearly National Competition). It's kinda stupid, especially since they're all ugly, but I really love that dedication one, because it is not just participation but for actually trying hard and dedicating time and effort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64