Unresolved - The Invasion? - Drop in the Ocean | Resolution

in #dropintheocean5 years ago (edited)

"Woah, dude this microscope has an insane resolution," James exclaims as he enlarges the organic sample larger and larger. The lab just got the new microscope as part of their funding. They are spearheading the research around a meteor impact site that recently occurred in a kids playground.

A person might think that this was a catastrophic thing to occur especially if you consider there were kids on the playground at the time of impact. However, this was no more than a pebble in size and did not have any effect on the children's activities. You see because it was so small it pierced the earth quite graciously as far as things hitting the ground from outer space are concerned.

The pebble pierced the ground and kept going, gravity was quite happy with itself as its resolve to pull things down has once again proven to be unwavering. The recent boom in things leaving earth however still weighing heavily on its mind. It has decided to take pleasure in the small things and not be so concerned with the rest. After all, everyone is entitled to their opinion and it felt to Gravity like the humans have resolved to go up. Gravity smiled as it heard the words, "He is going to jump."

Meteor strike sounds far more exciting than unknown pebble incident, but will be known after the fact as exactly that "The unknown pebble incident of 1995." Which in turn sounds better than 2000, by which it is also assumed the fact that we are about 6 years out on the actual date of "In the year of our Lord," that there is a clear biased towards dates that sound good giving more significance to an event than what it would have had.

James is part of a special branch in the government which deals mainly with pebble related incidents, something which until recently was just not as exciting and after 5 years of almost exclusively dealing with pebble related windshield repairs, he said enough was enough and marched upstairs.

After demanding they only work on provable outer space-related pebble incidents the higher ups passed a resolution to ensure this will be the case. With the contingency of course that if the department were to lack funding a few sideline windshield repair incidents should be taken on. The official reason for the contingency was stated thusly - "Every pebble counts."

Mike walked over to James and pushed him aside to look into the microscope. "Woah, dude this microscope has an insane resolution," Mike exclaims. James just shrugged as Mike was quite thick but smart. Still, he was quite thick. James has long ago decided that Mike irks him since that was the only way he could describe the uncertain feeling he felt when Mike was nearby.

"What is that?" Mike asked in a tone of wonder, "It looks like a single cell organism." James takes the opportunity to shove Mike out of the way, with a grin he looks into the microscope. "You are right, it is a single cell organism." Mike also did not like James much but he did like hearing that he was right so he just said "Awesome," in the most sarcastic manner he could.



The single cell organism did not like it very much to hear that it was a single cell. With ironic single-minded determination it split into more cells, and more cells. "Dude, this thing is dividing," James says under his breath as he watches in shock.

The cell did not have any exposure to earth or could have come from earth since it was extracted from inside the pebble. Very carefully and methodically, James does not have an award for the most anal foreign body extractor and preserver for nothing.

The cell started feeling like less of a cell and momentarily this was a great problem, the other cells who have not yet caught on explained that they should stay on course and this was a good decision, "It will soon be over and you will feel like your old self again, they chimed in unison."

Unfortunately, we will never know how this situation resolved itself and whether it ever did. Some speculate that we are amidst a pebble war and that the single cell organism very much felt like its old self again. Too bad for the human race, since its old self is that of a war waging species.

These could also just be the ravings of a grumpy old man, who has grown tired of the children throwing rocks at his windows and wishes the full force of the Military to intervene.

~~FIN~~








I am Penderis and and this was my Drop in the Ocean Post for the topic of the week Disconnect to find out more visit Drop in the Ocean - Credits


We all grow together


BuddyUp Avatar

Sort:  

The hundreth cell effect run amok - unresolved devolution

This was such a fun post to read, Pen LOL Enjoyably abstract

I agree! LOL!

Not unlike humanity :) Thanx I had fun writing it.

I've always loved the way you see the world. You have a knack for entertaining us and then make us wonder - wait what? Hmmm... many interesting layers.

Thank you for the entertaining read!

Glad you liked it, don't wonder too much though it does not hold anything more than maybe a passing interest in an oddly shaped rock as you have a walk. Quickly forgotten once you realise it is just a rock and oooh look a squirrel.

Lol! Sounds like a typical conversation in my head. 😂😂😂

Much disconnecting. I wish the old man could appreciate kids; their innocent questions, their laughter, etc. It's likely the old man did something to them, for them to throw rocks at his windows!

Or kids will be kids, maybe the kids knocked on his door once even with a sign that says go away? Their parents can deal with questions and laughter they the ones that bred them. Similar to me not being allowed to smoke where I want children should not be allowed to go where they want. Then again maybe it is not kids and an invasion with local forces targeting his home. :)

Where I live, the kids in general seem to be nice, normal kids that respect adults. There are a bunch of kids that catch the school bus on the corner caddy-corner to my house. When I hear them out there on the mornings I don't go to the gym, it makes me smile hearing them playing and laughing while they wait for the bus. And there are three groups at different times; elementary kids, junior high kids and high school kids, and all seem to be well-behaved in general.

I think I appreciate kids more because they remind me of my childhood and my growing up years. I was a good, well-mannered farm boy until I was 15, and even then, I was still a good kid, but did a few bad things here and there, mainly to "fit in" with the new kids I had to live with when we moved to a small town. I got in with some guys there and skipped school with them a few times, and we'd go on shoplifting sprees, just to see who could steal the most without getting caught. It didn't matter what you got, it was just how many things you got. Then I got caught. I was 17, and could have been arrested, but I talked the store detective, (an off-duty cop), into believing I was only 15. I had been injured in a car wreck not long before that, and still had very visible wounds and injuries. I lied and told the cop that my parents were killed in the wreck. That ended my shoplifting days.

It's the way kids are raised that mostly affects how they behave as children and as adults. If a young kid is bad, I believe that in most cases, it's because they have crummy parents. If I had to live around kids that were generally bad today, I would not likely enjoy hearing their interactions while waiting for the school bus, and I'd also welcome the assistance of law enforcement if they got too rotten. I'd feel sorry for the kids mostly though, and hope they'd learn a lesson, because it's not really their fault, they just had scumbag parents in most cases.

True a lot comes don on the parents and rightfully so. Maybe at a certain age though the child needs to have learnt that it is alone in the world and all it does is its own fault.

You sound like an average kid with a tendency for deception. Did you work for the NSA maybe?

Ha ha, no, never worked for the NSA although I did work several years for a company with defense dept. contracts at one point in my career. I got deceived a lot when we moved the the small town, and being a farm boy my whole life made it hard to know what was going on in the world. I was pretty naive. I picked up some savvy living there but really got my smarts in the Army - where everyone is the same, as far as class and self-importance are concerned, and many people who do business around the bases are shifty devils targeting the GIs.

!tipuvote 0.1

This post is supported by $0.05 @tipU upvote funded by @free-reign :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

So you're saying that after I've taken the time to read through right to the very end of your story, there is NO resolution?!?!

Ouch that is my eye. Now I definitely won't resolve it, although that is a resolve in itself. Haha not unlike your story, there is a continuation just in mine I let the continuation go silent.

Hello @penderis, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95