You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does the candle burn at both ends?

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

Have you questioned what encouragement does?

Very true one should question what encouragement does since this has a lot to do with intentions also, not just those of the encourager but also once encouraged what does the recipient intend to do when they have reached their goal, thanks to your encouragement?

Or without knowing the bigger picture of things did you just help them from the sidewalk into a ditch?

Encouragement can be as dangerous as good, and knowing that only two perspectives can't be ironclad will help avoid many pitfalls.

Sort:  

Very interesting thoughts on that. I'm glad you elaborated on that. The two sides of the coin are very interesting and it's difficult to know in the present moment whether your help will lift them up or bring them crashing back down.

I guess it comes back to what I was saying with @CoachJJ, even if you do advise someone wrongfully, at least own it and take the responsibility on your shoulders rather than shying away from it. I believe that in itself is a representation of two people being ironclad. Even if the advice is bad, they're still protected by each others support for one another.

I’ve given bad advice before, but you’re right @calumam owning up to it and accepting responsibility is a sign of maturity and willingness to grow. I am learning so much from everyone’s perspectives on this topic.

It's so much fun! I feel like I'm learning so much each week from this and I'm instantly excited for the following week once it's done hahaha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46