Good to be Bad [Drop in the Ocean Topic: Astonish]

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

MyStereogram 1.jpg
You may stare



I can't be bothered with too many sappy things.

Never astonished at rainbows or births.

Instead, use astonish with a modicum of mirth, as you

Over exaggerate failure and doubt their worth.


It astounds me! What? You may ask.

Simple. Your stupidity, as you fail at every task.

Astonishing!!

What is that lad?

Nothing.

I just think you are mad.


Speak up boy!

Yes, my liege.

It astounds me that you are such a...


Get from here! Be gone! You runt!

GOOD, I WON'T WORK FOR A ...


See ya!



Astonish may sound like a word for good but this word has been a friend to the dark side for a long time. Words like amazing, wonderful... Two is plural, right?



I just think the word is harsh, it has a harsh sound which pairs well with a more harsh vibe.

"It amazes me how bad you are at your job."
Said by some wanna be tough guy

"It astounds me how bad you are at your job."
Said by my boss or me to my boss The actual words were "Not like that, jeez."


Astonishing has clear hard syllables, everyone knows the best swear words are hard sounding, grinding to the ears. Like thunder. Wink @juliamulcahy

Sure things in the world are amazing and beautiful, magical and... See I just can't.

It astounds me how some people make it through the day, how they even reach the age they have. We should pat ourselves on the back because clearly as a species we are capable of keeping anything alive, even the moronic scum with their astonishing behaviour. Dumb faces, with astonishingly dumber ideas hidden under the surface, only to be spoken with such astounding confidence that you will be left wondering how bad prison really is because it has to be pretty amazing compared to this astonishing display of ignorance.





^^^^ I said stuff.






I am Penderis and proud to be part of @BuddyUp if you wish to know more about this great community head over to our BuddyUP server. You can do this by following the SafeLink post here.




We all grow together




Image links giphy and Stereogram maker

Sort:  

Finally got the skull! Astonishing how long I spent moving the screen backwards and forwards until my gaze softened sufficiently and bang...like a thunder clap...there it was...a skull.

I enjoyed the rhythm and rhyme in your words and how close you came to those harsh sounds...and I heard what you called your boss.

Those images do take a bit of practice, I did a whole book the one school holiday and could not read all that well when school started haha. Thank you, I am glad I got the rhyme across, and I think the harsh sounds fortunately just came naturally. I always find with my attempted poetry that we can make almost anything lead into something "harsh" .

I remember doing quite a few of those 3D Magic Eye pictures back in the day too. I guess I’m out of practice now 😁

hahahaha see?!?!?! isn't it crazy! i love those mystery images

and seriously. why has his boss not fired him yet??? hehehehehe ;)

Congratulations @penderis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

you did indeed say stuff! LOL

and i even understood 46% of it today ;)

one of these days i'm gonna hear/see/find out about something that astonished you. and i hope i'm there to see it - so i can take a picture of your face LOL

But I said all the silly things "astonish" me. You missed my expression though, I would estimate about 10 times a day in this case. Glad you understood a bit but I think this is a 95% post.

95% to you. lol

46% to me because I don't understand your mindset. it's not just about the words. It's about your mindset half the time LOLOL

i missed your expression on your face 10 times today?? when you were astonished???

take a pic and send to me next time ;)

!tip balance

I think your poetry here is great! You got some chuckles out of me, I tell ya. And the part you wrote after the poem was icing on the cake! Saw the skull also. 😂

Thank you, that is a big compliment coming from an actual poet on the daily grind. I do hope you did the skull after reading, I found it hard to check for mistakes after doing the image so trusted Grammarly instead.

Yep, I went back up to the stereogram & saw the skull after reading the whole post and then seeing your credit for the image. I didn't know it was a stereogram up there until I saw that. Then I saw another poster had commented about seeing the skull. 😁

It is so interesting to me how words make us feel - how they can feel different to one person than another. Sooooo interesting! I am definitely sensitive to words....there is a stark difference in feeling between 'pithy' and 'placid' - one makes me cringe and the other soothes.

But astonishing....perhaps....there is a memory attached to it for you? Or perhaps it is the context in which the word is used in different parts of the world.

This was such smorgasbord of perspectives on the topic this week - and two people got curies! What does that tell ya? :) Astonishing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57