Transparency is the Key to Acceptance... Right?

Welcome to the World of Social Media

We live in a time when social media is the norm when it comes to socializing. It seems as though my Facebook friends and Twitter followers have no problem with transparency. They don't mind sharing with you every single moment of their precious, perfect lives. They don't mind sharing with you when they're fighting with their significant other or family member or friend. They share their illnesses, their weaknesses, their strengths. They share their vacations and trips to the grocery. They share their cooking or when they go out to eat, and you are sure to get a stellar review. Happy, sad, depressed, anxious; it doesn't matter, they share, share, share. As transparent as clear glass. Always looking for that next like that signifies true acceptance… and get depressed when the notifications don't roll in. There's never a lack of drama or selfies.

I Choose to be Opaque

I will admit, despite my shame and embarrassment, I, too, have a Facebook account. I've been wanting to deactivate it for quite some time now and do not have an excuse as to why I haven't yet. There's a running joke where my husband works that we are elusive creatures and everyone wants to know what we are up to because we keep everything secret and off of facebook. We’ve always lived that way, but since the birth of facebook, somehow, we are the ones who've changed. I'm an old fashioned kinda girl and believe that most things should remain private. In the past, any time that I've opened up to someone, it always came back to bite me in the ass.

banner-header-tapete-14530371659hF.jpg
Source
DQmYua6RdLWnm4Ynopdyiyq6Cmx3PJXLgvYEJEVaYDaNqgd.png
Case and Point

I was in high school when the situation with my father led to a three day trial. In the local newspaper, there were three small articles about what happened for the duration of the trial. My name was not included in order to protect my identity because I was still a minor. To this day, I'm not sure what possessed me to show those articles to someone who I thought was a friend. She decided to pass them around and made sure people knew I was a victim. This revelation showed me that back then, I had no friends. I was judged, I was bullied, made fun of, and became the outcast, the reject. With friends like that, who needs friends? I never spoke of my story to anyone after that. Even those closest to me don't know the whole story.

friend-2754278_1280.png
Source
DQmYua6RdLWnm4Ynopdyiyq6Cmx3PJXLgvYEJEVaYDaNqgd.png
The Crazy Thing Is…

My Steemian friends have been the only ones to see this newfound transparent version of myself. My transparency did not exist before joining Steemit. When I started my journey here, I figured I would post some of my writings and poems that I've written over the years. After reading some of my fellow Steemian’s posts, I decided that my old stuff just wasn't up to par. There are extremely talented people here. I struggled a bit, not knowing what to write about, and then I got the dreaded phone call about my father filing for clemency. Not wanting to burden those in my life with this, I once again, turned to my writing, but this time it was on Steemit. I became transparent, for the first time ever in my adult life. It was scary. Writing has always helped me cope with the things I’ve been through in life, and it's never been shared before. It's such a strange feeling knowing that some of you reading this know me better than some of the people I see every day.

This is my Drop in the Ocean post for the awesome BuddyUP community.
Thanks for stopping by y'all!!

DQmYua6RdLWnm4Ynopdyiyq6Cmx3PJXLgvYEJEVaYDaNqgd.png
steemit (1).jpg

Sort:  

I am also Opaque. You can choose to share what you what on social media. You don't have to have everything out in the open.

That's right @intrepidphotos, being opaque adds a little mystery. I still choose to be opaque in everyday life. And the things I have chosen to share here are things that I am hoping will help someone who may need it. Thanks for reading and for the comment!!

Thanks for the response ! It is an important topic as there is so much over sharing on the internet.

Excellent as always. I am fully enjoying your writing because I can definitely relate to you. I myself used to post almost my every thought and action on Facebook. For quite some time after I first signed up I was somewhat delusional thinking all of those posts would make me some sort of social media celebrity. Or in the very least make people like me and want to hang out with me. But as time went by I started to realize none of that would ever make me happy. These days I may post something on Facebook once or twice every few months. Keep up your writing, you have a unique voice.

Wait a minute.

You're NOT a social media celebrity?????

you LIED to me???? hehehhe you're right - happiness doesn't come from a social media site - that's for sure!

Thank you for such kind words @joelithic33. Lol, you and I are complete opposites, but yet can relate on many levels. Isn't that funny? I think it's insane that it's so easy to open up here, when I started I didn't think that I would be an open book. It is seeming to come fairly easy too. I really feel that happiness comes from within and as soon as you stop seeking acceptance, it frees you to be who you truly are. This is me like it or not lol.

And.... we are so blessed to have that insight into your beautiful heart. I don't know why people enjoy being cruel. I really don't. I always try to understand other people's perspectives but the heart of the cruel person always eludes me. If it's just unhappiness.... haven't we all been there and chosen to show kindness in the midst of that? Some people are just a mystery to me.

On the other hand.. I get other people :)

I'm so happy that you're in my life! I can go on and on about that... hehehe but i'll save that for DM ;)

And Facebook Shmacebook hehehehehe. Get rid of it - or keep it! It doesn't even matter! And you shouldn't be ashamed of that account. It represented a time in your life and now you're outgrowing it. When you're ready - you'll deactivate it.. Pure and simple :)

Transparency was a really tricky topic this time, wasn't it??? But - I think you did a wonderful job - got right to the heart of it B :)

Keep writing.... with ... (ahem - i can't say lol) hehehehehe

hahaha ahem you better watch or you gonna spill the beans with your shenanigans lol I have given up trying to understand some...well most people. I have come across so many bad eggs that it seems that's whats common in this world. Then we have little diamonds scattered about in the crowd.

And I'll tell you Dreemie, I hate the days of Facebook, and people think just because they live on FB that you do too. I'll get invitations on FB but not in the mail. Now, what if I don't get on FB? Are you gonna get mad at me because I didn't get your virtual invitation and should I keep it just for shit like that? But then why should I keep something I don't want because you have forgotten how to put a stamp on a damn envelope and stick it the damn mailbox??? Sorry for rambling lol, just my thoughts.

Thanks you again for all of your support and the..... (ahem I can't say!!) hahaha
Much Love to you Dreem!!❤☠

Guess what!?!? I actually DID spill the beans!!!! I had to edit the comment!!!!! 😂😂😂😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65