Being Just a Drop in the Ocean: Are You Lucky Enough to Make Connections?

A little about me….

I am an introvert. I don’t think I was born that way. I remember being fairly outgoing as a child and not the least bit shy. As I got older, and had my own nightmarish childhood experiences, I started to retreat inside of myself. I started to dread the daily conversations of small talk. I found myself always making excuses to end the conversation. Anxiety would set in when having to speak in front of the class. My mind was total chaos when having to stand in a crowded room. I started to fall in love with my solitude. I found time alone allowed me to recharge from the daily interactions with people. Being the way I am has not allowed me to make very many connections. I have made a few, and am happy to say that I know that those few are deep and meaningful and will definitely stand the test of time.

Family/Friends/Things

Family for me, is probably different from what you define as family. The only biological family of mine that I speak to is my brother. I love him dearly but he and I do not have a connection. We have a ton in common; we are both nerds, love horror movies, and most of the time we get along great, but we don’t always see eye to eye. My brother is a “know it all” and very often confrontational. I am the opposite. Connections with my family are non-existent. Just because we have the same blood I don’t feel that makes us family, it just makes us related.

I don’t have many friends, my circle is very small. Those few in my circle are the ones I consider to be my family, and that’s where my connections lie. They are the ones that know me the best, I know they are there for me, no matter what, and they know they can expect the same from me. They can look at me and know when something is wrong, no matter how well I think I hide it. The few that I have been fortunate to make connections with, push me to be a better me. They support me in everything that I want to try to do. They put up with my shenanigans, and my hare-brained ideas. They laugh at my jokes, even when they aren’t funny and tell me that I can do anything I put my mind to. Even though I know that I will never fly a plane, they tell me I will. They check me when I start to get a little crazy, and remind me that’s not who I am. When they hurt, I hurt. Most of all, they amaze me with the way they show me that they truly know me. I haven’t been easy to get to know, I hide a lot, I don’t share matters of my past, I don’t show that I struggle, I don’t ask for help. How can you NOT have a connection with those that can hear your cry for help when all they see is a smile on your face.


I have a few items in my possession that I feel give me a connection with a few of those that I’ve lost. Two old, beat up, rusty, ugly, used pocket knives. One belonged to my Uncle, who passed away in February after losing his battle to cancer, the other one belonged to my Father in law who passed away 3 years ago. He was the first father figure I had. They carried these knives everyday. I don’t know if this is silly or not, but I feel connected to them, kind of in a spiritual way, knowing I have these items. I also have an ugly fuzzy orange blanket that my mother owned. It draped over the back of the sofa, and the evenings we would sit and watch tv, she was always snuggled up with it. When she got sick, it was a security blanket for her. She died with that blanket draped over her. It is the one thing that I have of hers. I have been able to keep track of it, by some miracle, all these years and it has now become my security blanket.

Steemit

My husband introduced me to Steemit in February. When I signed up, it was with the sole intention of helping him grow. I was not expecting what would happen after joining this platform. I am pretty cynical when it comes to people, I’ve had so many bad eggs in my life, and good people seemed few and far between. I’ve recently opened up on Steemit, and much to my surprise have made a few strong connections along the way, in such a short time. It blows my mind!! I think these special Steemians know who they are. They have welcomed me with open arms. We've laughed, we've shared, we've had late night chats. They have been there for me throughout my journey here, lighting my way. They have taken me under their wings and have shown me what a little encouragement and generosity can do. And I’m not talking generosity in upvotes or donations, I mean that’s awesome and all but I’m talking generosity; the giving of themselves and their knowledge, so freely. I think they feel the connection too.


In a world of 7 billion people, if you find a connection with one person, you are lucky. Hold on to that and never let it go.

Untitled design (1).png

Thanks for stopping by y'all. This is my Drop in the Ocean post for the Awesome BuddyUp community.

steemit (1).jpg

Sort:  

wow.

I'm not even sure I know where to start. :)

I'm sorry that you ever doubted yourself, but I'm glad that you're breaking out of your cocoon. I'm so glad for that first day :)

I'm looking at your picture right now and I'm just giggling. I hear your voice and your laughter and I can't stop giggling!!!! LOL

oh Queen Bee. I can't wait to get to know you more, day by day. I love how you share, and I love how you encourage, and I love how humble you are. I hope someday that you can balance that humility with a fierce pride in the beautiful woman that you are. The confidence that I want you to exude. You're so special. You're such a protector. You're fire, my love :)

and i love the pocketknives and the blanket.... i know just what you mean.

<3

WOW!! Dreemie, how do I respond to such beautiful words? From the bottom of my heart, thank you. You know our perception of ourselves is never as other people perceive us. I love how you encourage me, and I want you to know how special it is for me that you have that opinion of me, because I see all of that in you. You and I have this connection, and so much in common. I mean it's kinda starting to freak me out!!! Hahaha no really...you my dear are a Goddess and I love you!

No no no.... Not a goddess hahahahaha

Just a friend ♥️

Very impressive to open up like this.
So hard to do, and yet, you do it well.

You know @bluefinstudios it has been easier to open up to people I don't know. I'm not sure if that's a normal thing or not. But I've never really been "normal" lol Thank you for reading!!

I loved reading this - you are a very special person and I am privileged to know you! Thank you for letting me in :)

Thank you Andy! I feel the same about you. We truly are kindred spirits, and it has totally been my pleasure getting know you and laugh with you. I love our shenanigans and the way we laugh and I love your stories!! I look forward to the future and what it will bring!!

I could relate to this on so many levels. Not having connections with family members, the anxiety and introversion (I'm sure yo know what I'm talking about), as well as being connected to some items as well. I have a soft-toy of Stitch, I had gotten it from the first time I was abroad, Disneyland Paris, and I always must have it in my bed. It just brings so much comfort, knowing something that brought me so much joy in childhood never left my side. People, on the other hand, have left my iide frequently, so Stitch is the one I can truly rely on <3

I absolutely know what you're talking @poetrybyjeremy.. I love that we have this in common. I feel like such the black sheep normally, it's kind of comforting that there are people here that are just like me. I'm enjoying getting to know you and I think you are a very talented writer. I love your poems and feel your passion in each one I read. Thank you for opening up.. I know that's not easy for people like us.

I grew up in the age of technology, so when we were just age 9 we already had MSN to chat with our friends. In that sense, I'm used to expressing myself online, and okay, I wasn't always this open, but writing has always been much easier than talking. I like being an open book because it lets genuine connections without much resistance, and I do have friends that read my very honest work. My facebook and twitter do have links to steemit sometimes too, so, I'm out there :P

You ain't that much of a weirdo after all ;) Most people just hide it. I'm enjoying get to know you too <3

Growing up with a cleft lip I was definitely very shy and introvert until I broke out of my shell sometime in my 20s. It takes time but we all figure out who we are and now most people I meet and get to know love me and think I'm hilarious. I keep my coworkers entertained as much as possible. But I sort of have to considering how boring it can be working in a warehouse. Hopefully my girlfriend and I get to meet you and your husband and boil some crawfish or just hang out and enjoy each other's company. Looking forward to good times.

It's been easy to open up here, but I don't think I would change much in my everyday life outside of Steemit. I know who I am and for me its really not about people liking me or thinking I'm funny, I just want a genuine connection with the people I invest my time in. Thanks for commenting @joelithic33

I'm an introvert too. That doesn't mean I can't sometimes be outgoing, just that it takes a lot out of me and I need time to recharge again afterwards. So I relate to the small group of close friends, rather than a huge network. It's ironical that on one hand, phones and internet can take us away from connecting with the people we're in the same room with, but at the same time, allow those deep connections with people we've never met in person. I think that when you meet someone online first, you can go straight to the core, because appearances don't get in the way and give the wrong impression.

Yes @kiwideb I have been amazed with the connections I've made here ... I would have never thought that I could have that without meeting someone. It truly has been a wonderful thing.

My introvert personality identified with a lot in this post. It sounds like you have some quality friends around you now. Beautiful!

Thank you @coachjj I find that being an introvert allows for something so much deeper. You're a little more selective and definitely go for quantity over quality.

I can identify with so much of what you wrote here... especially the anxiety, chaos, and the finding solace in solitude, a time to recharge and regroup. And having a brother as you described. And having few really deep relationships, and finding sentimental comfort in the things that were left behind by others. And finding so many great connections on Steemit/Discord! 💖

_PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you @thekittygirl! It's been something special to say the least when it comes to Steemit and Discord. I have met so many people like me it's crazy, Here at home I am the black sheep.

I seem to be in and out of my introvert shell. I must confess Steemit has a way to make people talk more than they would regularly do. ;-) Isn't wonderful to see how much you can share with a stranger than with someone you would see daily?
I really enjoyed reading your post.

Thank you @lymepoet. It is wonderful and completely unexpected! And I must confess that for the first time in my life, I'm actually excited to be expanding my circle!! It gives me a nice warm fuzzy feeling lol

I can relate to that! ;0)

Congratulations @monchhichi23! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74