The Little Voice - Bringing a Light to the Word

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

book floating 2.jpg

Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

How many dictionaries do you have in your house? Do you have any? Do you rely on the internet for your definitions? Or, are you a little bit anal like myself, and maybe start with the online dictionary to find the quick meaning behind a word, and then, if you're really super interested in the word, move to the hardback copy of your own dictionary?

I've got The New Collins Concise English Dictionary which "takes pains to ensure that no reader will retire baffled in his attempt to find an item..." and where, "the user is helped by [the dictionary editors'] sensible practice of placing the common modern meanings of a word first in the entry..." and I've had said dictionary since 1986/87. So, it's a friend. But, it's an old friend and I'm sometimes a little lapse in connecting.

However, I am also rather partial to my other dictionary, and we've been friends since 2004. I remember when I first cast my eyes on her. She was sitting there bold as brass on the bookshelf in the Owl Bookshop in Kentish Town, just daring me to take a peek inside. There were two reasons at the time for doing so. Number one I had to pick her up and turn her around to see her monetary value. I smiled, they had miscalculated, and then I opened her up at random. The softness of her pages reminded me of tissues; she was delicate but strong. She contained so much wisdom. And I could have her for the incredible price of 30 British Pounds. And that was the second reason. I wanted her.

Foreplay over, I rushed home. ;)

Dived inside and became consumed. Deep Breath out! Time to go slower. I held her gently, opened the first page and saw the virgin white pages. Between thumb and index finger, I very carefully began to explore further into her hidden depths. She supplied her contents willingly.

Inside I found her Editorial team. They were in and amongst her Roman pages.

They were the comperes for this show. Catherine Soanes and Angus Stevenson kicked off with the preface, explaining the subject: the English language; the scope: beginning with the first edition, published back in 1911, to the present eleventh edition, that was the first Concise for the 21st century; and her aims...

Angus looked at Catherine and said, "What we gonna do tomorrow night, Brains?" to which she replied (totally straightfaced), "Same thing we do every night, Pinky. Try to take over the world."


But seriously, no, that didn't happen inside the dictionary at all. Just inside my head, and now hopefully yours too! Isn't it fun what you can do with words?

The aims of the Concise Oxford English Dictionary are much more serious, and no laughing matter! Stop sniggering Hubert! Or I'll send you outside. The aims are to 'offer a description of the language that is as accurate, up to date, and objective as possible...' The twelfth edition, and second of this century, is now out in bookshops near you. ;)

Going back to my edition though, and my particular copy, I turned towards the Introduction where her structure was laid out for me. Her Entry Structure was explained. The way into her was opened up and I could take my time to learn as much as I wanted to about each and every word, walking through the 1,681 pages at my leisure with thumb and index finger.

ENTRY STRUCTURE: CORE SENSE AND SUBSENSE

Each word has at least one core sense, which acts as a gateway to other, related subsenses.

Concise Oxford English Dictionary, Eleventh Edition 2004, page ix

The dictionary — a tome of exploration; have you ever found it quite so sexy?

Since joining Steemit, and then joining some incredible communities within this space, I have become reacquainted with my loving dictionary. She has sat on her shelf waiting patiently for me to come and play with her again. Over the last few weeks, I have dropped inside her ocean of words, the little voice swimming around in her sea of senses. Each time a #dropintheocean has explored a new word, there I go, diving in again and again.

For my first venture, I ran solo, without my darling...maybe it was because the concept was not one word but two.

Critical Thinking

What is it? Well, if I didn't know before, I certainly have more of a handle on it now. The other members within the #BuddyUp community, who joined in on the fun, wrote some brilliant, and illuminating posts. My favourite on this particular week was @eaglespirit's haiku. I loved how much power was contained in this three line poem consisting of 17 syllables.

The Haiku poetic form has an interesting history dating back to 17th century Japan. It began life as the hokku, the opening stanza of the much longer collaborative poetry style called rengu.

Imagine, if you will, an older time, a time when poets sat together collaboratively creating beautiful poetry. Once upon a time, one such poet, Matsuo Bashō, who posthumously was sainted for his contribution to Japanese literature, was a master of this tradition. During his lifetime he wandered the Japanese countryside composing his poetry, writing travel and biographical prose and creating artwork. Divine!

Digression - Over!

At this point, I returned to my darling and flicked through her tissue-like pages to the letter 'D'. To help brighten the words to my failing eyesight, I donned my reading glasses, gaining a crystalline clear view of the black print on the white pages. Digestif | Dilapidated, the word I was searching for should be here, somewhere on this page. Slap bang in the middle of the last column I found it.

Digress

Leave the main subject temporarily in speech or writing.

Go for a meander to somewhere else, much like Matsuo Bashō. Leave the main event for a while. Go on holiday and leave your real life behind. It will still be there waiting for you when you return.

Just like my ever-faithful dictionary sitting patiently on the shelf.

Astonishing...Isn't it? How we hold and cherish some things. They hold a value that isn't expressed through the monetary price of 30 British Pounds. Their value is one of perception.

How do you perceive the value of something that holds within it "each word [that] has at least one core sense, which [then] acts as a gateway to other, related subsenses." How far can you digress withinside (1 archaic : on the inner side) before you have changed so far that on your return, you find the topic has changed, once again, completely?

The word this week is...

Lucidity: clear,
Translucent window opens
Away from opaque

Perspective looking
From another bright angle,
Cast its long shadow.

Together opaque
And lucidity stir round
And round, and round, and...

bright lucidity
disintegrating darkness
until you can't see!

I feel the slip of the lucid moment ease itself out as the layers upon layers reveal themselves. Take your pick. Take your moment. Take your word. Spin it this way and that. Speak it loud. Speak it slow. Speak it from over there. Speak it from under a chair. Oh my! I’ve turned into Dr. Seuss. Here can’t you hear me:

lifestooshort.jpg

Is this the kind lucidity you were after?

It's what I found withinside my dictionary.

Sources for the images used within my linked Haiku poem:-

window - Photo by Chris Liu on Unsplash
round and around - Photo by Michael Ankes on Unsplash
shadow - Photo by Steve Shreve on Unsplash
yin and yang - Photo by OpenClipart-Vectors on Pixabay

If you'd like to join the extremely lucid #DropintheOcean group, we meet up on the #BuddyUp server discord each Monday at 8 pm UTC. You can join the show by using this link: https://discord.gg/3d5H3K8


Sort:  

I'm a bit jealous with your dictionary @juliamulcahy, I have dictionaries, forgot the title because everytime I bought one, somebody would borrowed and never give it back, LOL. English dictionary in my country is a bunch of words and its interpretation in Bahasa Indonesia, there's no quite completed explanation but I learned a lot from it. oohh I'm so obsessed to a dictionary but finally bought myself one when I'm 20 yo. I can say that I learn to write in English with dictionary, where no grammars or structures included.

Reading your post made me realised that I don't have any Indonesian dictionary and learn the words from reading other books where the authors add some new words and explains the words easily. I think you have wrote a lucid post this time too.

Found Your post through @roleerob entry post in the pay it forward contest this week and Thank you so much for sharing this post!

We meet again, @ciciaja. Your English is amazing for someone who has self-taught it. You have a natural flare for grammar as is shown in this comment.

I consider this as a compliment @juliamulcahy 😊 Thank you, it's encoraging!
I did learn english in junior high school.. 2 hours a week for 3 years, enough for the basic learning right? Being here on Steemit, I think that I learned more than those 3 years in school.

Using a language is definitely the best way to learn. I’m enjoying our conversations here and yes, it was definitely a compliment x

Good evening (here) @juliamulcahy, working to do my small part in support of the great @pifc community, I am writing to let you know I have selected your post as an entry into their weekly contest.

It was very encouraging to me to “see” you again and find out how well you are doing. I hope will find encouragement in learning this, to continue all you are clearly doing to add value to our Steem blockchain. Please follow the entry link above to find my supporting comments, to the PIFC Community, for the consideration of your efforts here.

Until we “meet” again, all the best to you @juliamulcahy, for a better tomorrow!

Oh, thank you, @roleerob! I'm reading this in the morning (here) and am very glad to "see" you again too! It is very kind of you to stop by and take a moment out of your day to spend it with me, and I am very appreciative of that. I will, without further ado, click on your link and fly away to another section of the steemiverse. I'm having so much fun in this virtual world where one becomes many and we link together so beautifully.

Yes, @juliamulcahy ...

"... in this virtual world where one becomes many and we link together so beautifully."

There is so much to be said about working together in a community to add value to our Steem blockchain. After stumbling on to a few communities, I settled on our @pifc community, as it focuses on supporting others, rather than ourselves ... So, my time is primarily invested there, and I have financially supported others, as well as contributing the best I can, with the limited time I have ...

As I write about in my "Chapter Two" post, I frankly "didn't get it" at first. I am new to being online and more in the "lone wolf" category ...

BUT, while perhaps a bit slow at times, I do eventually "get there" ... 😉 And, as an unexpected bonus, I really have found I enjoy writing a lot more than I originally anticipated.

Have a great day!

I'm glad your "lone wolf" has finally found "his" pack.

Like you, I'm limited for time, but bit by bit I am finding my way around. Your posts have been very helpful to me. You lay out everything so clearly.

If there was one thing I'd like to see here, it would be a side bar for each member, with a content menu. Scrolling through each and every post on a page in search of one post that is early on in someone's history can be very time consuming. ;)

Thank you @ juliamulcahy.

”Your posts have been very helpful to me. You lay out everything so clearly.”

I appreciate hearing that. I will certainly never win any award for the quantity of my posts. I put a lot of time into putting together what I do take time to write, so I am always encouraged when others take note.

I perceive in your posting that you put a lot into yours as well. It shows! 👍

”If there was one thing I'd like to see here, it would be a side bar for each member, with a content menu.”

Yes, agreed! The best I have come up with is a combination of using the post listings of SteemWorld and thumbnail listing option in SteemPeak. You may want to join SteemPeak’s Discord channel and make this suggestion!

When all else fails, I simply search and hope to get lucky and I have not found Steem’s search engine to be all that great, but better than nothing. I have also built my own database to store details of my posts and “highlight” comments, as well as those of others, I wish to get to quickly.

I enjoyed the poem, each time I read it I saw a bit more meaning, my favourite part is the long shadow and my little moment of aha that is clever.

I feel the slip of the lucid moment ease itself out as the layers upon layers reveal themselves.

We need to go into the forest and learn the paths, make our own before we call it home. Some go willingly others get lured then a moment of clarity can still save you if only to show lines blurred.

I am seeing more and more poetry in your words, @penderis. I think they have possibly always been there but now I see the path has opened and maybe, just maybe, I'm willingly stepping in. Or am I being lured? Either way, I like the clarity of words against the blurred lines on the white page.

poetry in my words haha, I probably read a @free-reign spigot before commenting. Fair enough on the words and the stories they form. The characters show clarity when in a predicament and although what is to follow needs to still unfold, the next step is clear as daylight.

I enjoy your writing a lot... Maybe you influence my approach and not as I first stated.

@juliamulcahy I think I'm jealous. I miss an actual dictionary. Love how you described your relationship with it. Beautiful post!

You were featured in week 34 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @roleerob.

Hehe, glad you enjoyed it @tryskele. It sounds like it’s time for you to visit your book shop 😉

I love the depth of attention you pay to words... Most people simply use words in an unexamined or underexamined fashion, so it's refreshing to read your thoughts right here on the blockchain!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @abhaya504. I'm glad you felt refreshed after reading my thoughts. That is quite the compliment. :)

I've got The New Collins Concise English Dictionary which "takes pains to ensure that no reader will retire baffled in his attempt to find an item..." and where, "the user is helped by [the dictionary editors'] sensible practice of placing the common modern meanings of a word first in the entry..." and I've had said dictionary since 1986/87. So, it's a friend. But, it's an old friend and I'm sometimes a little lapse in connecting.

Reminds me so much of my dictionary which I have with me since school time. Traveled everywhere with me ... :)

@youhavewings, you will for sure enjoy Julias article <3

Ah, we are kindred spirits @anutu and now are paths have crossed it will be very interesting to see what sparks we can make fly. :)

Very playful and fluid, @juliamulcahy I remember my connection with words - how'd they chase me and swoon me until I wrote them down - quick before they're gone! I used to spend hours reading my dictionary. Not only for the thousands of perspectives on the English language and their origin, but also the words textures and sound. I used to find myself obsessed with little pet words I'd carry around with me hoping for a moment in which to cast its essence into a conversation, to bring it out into the open air to breathe new life into a set of vocabulary words I had grown tired of.

I forgot about this until I read your post :) It was a nice journey to take with you and I appreciate your love for words very much.

Very nice post. A fun post! You are such a wonderful writer.

It's funny but our paths seem to have overcrossed in so many ways. Our outlooks have matched up and now we are seeing ourselves in the others words.

I have a picture for you, I took it today as it reminds me of you. We put this up in our house when we moved to Ireland. In the background, somewhat undefined, is another plaque with 'It's a Wonderful Life'. :)

happily ever after.JPG

one would almost think you're having fun reviewing the words each week as you build toward the current word.. .clever clever lady you are.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Thank you for taking the time to read, @shadowspub. I look forward to hearing you later in #dropintheocean ❤️

I admit I usually search the definition in Google and I'm done with it.

Excellent post, @juliamulcahy! Very well written, both easy and amusing to read. Thanks!

PS: I've found your post because @roleerob featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you @trincowski for dropping by. It was a delight to read @roleerob's comment this morning and then his post that featured this post.

I then visited @alphaccino.art who was also featured and learned something new about plants. I wonder did you pop over there too? Weren't the Aloe Duckeri's beautifully captured. I loved how she turned her confusion and frustration into something so positive, that would enhance our blockchain even more. I guess that's what it's all about.

As @roleerob would say, "All the best to you for a better tomorrow..." :D

Yes, I've visited @alphaccino.art's post, as well! :-)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 88 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Why thank you, @trufflepig, that is very nice of you. I will take a look at your explanation and learn more. :D

Congratulations! So very proud of you. You always write so well and you deserve this!

Yes, @juliamulcahy ...

”I will take a look at your explanation and learn more.”

… if you’ll permit me to be so bold, I would highly recommend doing just that.

@trufflepig is my favorite little bot, by far. I’ve written about it here in my playful post on my “adventures” with it, in an attempt to boost its support. Alas, its developer, @smcaterpillar, has been “missing in action” for some time and that saddens me, as we had some interesting exchanges early on in my Steem “journey.”

I’ve recently returned from an international conference where these automated creations of man’s innovative mind were prominently featured. While a bit skeptical at first (and there really are a number of them to avoid …), I have become fascinated with this time in human history and what something like the Steem blockchain represents. And what value these little creations like @trufflepig add to the “big picture” …

Given your love for words, @juliamulcahy, I think you will enjoy how cleverly “put together” this little bot is and find the investment of your time provides a great ROI. 👍

I have now read @trufflepig's explanation. I'm not sure how many times it will take for me to fully understand it, but what I can say is, that there sure has been a lot of thought and work carried out to create the amazing app. My mind is still reeling - and that's just from the small amount I did get. ;)

Yes, @juliamulcahy, ...

"I have now read @trufflepig's explanation. I'm not sure how many times it will take for me to fully understand it ..."

... you are certainly not alone. My very first fun exchange with the little bot was after reading through the same material.

I did extract some details, which I put into my reply, leading to a nice exchange with its developer.

I was satisfied simply by having my initial deep reservations about bots overcome, as my initial "encounters" were not favorable ...

So, to promote good business - mutually beneficial - I wrote my "Adventures" post, focusing on the clever use of the truffle pig imagery, along with my "two cents" on the great value it is adding every day.

One of its daily features is a post about the highest rewarded posts on the Steem blockchain minus self-votes and "bid bot" votes. In other words, the ones other real people value the most highly.

Now at my "day job," so ... On into my day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, thank you, @roleerob, for making me feel like I’m not alone. I did find the section about the highest rewarded steemians interesting. There were a few posts amongst the list that I will definitely be checking out. When I have time 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51