You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transparency: a Drop in the Ocean post

It is a balance. I share a lot of my work on social media but I keep a reasonably high wall. I feel you have to. I have 80k people following me, mostly on Instagram, and you need to keep reasonably reserved or your life feels like a soap opera. Its hard because people expect more and more. I think the key is honesty. You don't have to be transparent but you do have to be honest. It's a beautiful quote by Mother Teresa and one that we can all lean from.

Sort:  

That makes so much sense. I understand that feeling too - it's almost like when people sense they can't have more of you - they want more of you. I'm not sure what that is! hahahaha just as simple as wanting what you can't have? Is it the Princess Di phenomenon? :) We just couldn't get enough of her!! hahahaha

But - you're right. I think when you tell people the reasons why you're protecting yourself, and you're not playing coy games with them - but just being upfront and honest.... then most do respect that. And - you know - when we do stay private, it actually does let us be a little bit more transparent. Do you know what I mean?

Because I'm just a faceless person. But they connect with my real transparent emotions and experiences. They don't have to have a name or a location.... they just want someone real.

And I am real. And I hope I'm genuine.

I really appreciated your comment :) And yes - I do love that quote too. In spite of the potential attacks - risk it for the potential benefits.

Thanks :)

Thanks for the response. You don't have to be faceless to be reserved. Just like we don't have to go out in public without any clothes. We can reserve some parts of ourselves for our private life.

Sorry...I realize my comment wasn't clear lol

I just meant I'm anonymous on steemit :)
I don't show my face or details here, and sometimes that makes it easier for people to feel at ease to share.

Almost the "talking through the confessional" experience. It can put people at ease.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44