You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Need for Validation

in #dropintheocean5 years ago

so bummed I missed DITO - but was in the throes of energetic excitement with a certain developer that you know!!! hehehehe so thankful that you introduced us ;)

now... your post - wow. well - it's not even wow because I've grown used to learning a lot of wow lessons in your posts hehehehe

but here is something interesting! When I read all of your examples for the cultural invalidation cliches.... i have found peace in every single one of them!!! LOL

I usually search for silver linings - I love that it has happened, because there IS a reason (for me, my faith), that phases do come and go... that in time - we DO often learn... hehehehe
i could go on!

now - I will say this. If the person is using them haphazardly and to dismiss the person's experience - yes. invalidating.

but if the person is using it to connect with them... i find it not only validating but reassuring to remember those truths.

(this is all very personal - and maybe you talked more about it in the show and I missed it! hehehe)

but - I loved the post. such a good challenge to watch how we respond to others... be sensitive... be responsive... be observant.

good reminders for me :)

Sort:  

We missed you! I know you have a lot going on - I was in the kitchen with @worthtrying listening and trying to be quiet as we had a little giggle fest going on.

I agree with everything you said. It would depend on the context and situation, the person. However, I say some of these same things constantly. It helps reassure and give hope and they happen to be true...there is usually a silver lining! Smile was another one on this list that I thought, 'huh?' Smile is invalidating? But, yes, it can be if said by someone using it to dismiss a feeling a person is having. It's like I was telling Pen, some of this can be construed as hyper-vigilant IMHO - I think that emotional intelligence is the key - so we don't want to 'avoid' language that makes us feel and deal with emotions either - even those feelings of invalidation. Because in the perfect world, you want to get to the place that your inner validation is stronger than outer noise.

But certainly a lot of stronger invalidation language is used that does affect people in deep and devastating ways.

I just posted a few examples from the library - it is much more detailed and enlightening to read it in it's entirety - I would have had a very, very long post so I just skimmed the surface. But I found it very useful and we've been playing with it as a family - telling each other, "You're amazing!" Look at how you ate that sugar cookie so fast, that is soooo amazing!" ;) hehe

Yes, it helps to be aware and more sensitive to how we all interact.

Much love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79