[Creation] : Mess about with Creativity

in #dropintheocean6 years ago (edited)

blend.jpg





MIX IT UP

2px divider.jpg

I've decided to get down with the Drop in the Ocean topic this week with something I've been enjoying lately... making avatars! The avatars I've created over the past week have taken no longer than 10-15 minutes and generally consist of free selected imagery and a certain background.

This time around I decided to push the boat out!

I had a little bit of fun with the effects with this avatar and decided to just get into the creative flow and make it up as I went along. I've used three images, no more than a dozen effects and basic scaling and selecting tools. Nothing fancy.


HOW FUNKY

2px divider.jpg

The first image I decided to use was of a series of hanging lights. I thought the colors from each individual light would work well together using the Mosaic effect. I tried to mess about with the Fractal settings (after many computer crashes) but settled on using the Illusion effect instead to create an added layer.

To finish, I added a canvas effect to the whole image and I trimmed it down to 500X500 ready for the finished image (I have no idea if the canvas makes the image look any better, it probably reduces some of the gloss effects overall).


paul-volkmeroutline.jpg

source - photo by paul volkmer


paul-volkmermosaic.jpg

paul-volkmerillusion.png





FINISHED LAYER


paul-volkmercanvas.png



BALL OF JELLY

2px divider.jpg

Time for the next layer in the avatar, which turned out to be a jellyfish! I have no idea why...

I knew I wanted to find a top-down image of the jellyfish so I could create a circular image for the next layer. Once I free selected the jelly out of the original image, I pasted it into a separate file and began to mess about with the Ripple effect.

I changed the pixels to Tiles and added a Softglow effect to finish the layer and it ended up giving it a white noise-esque effect.

genton-damianoutline.jpg

source - photo by genton damian


genton-damiantransparent.png

genton-damianripple.png





FINISHED LAYER


genton-damianfinsihed.png



ADD A BIT OF COLOUR

2px divider.jpg

As you can see, the past two layers are a bit dark and dreary. I decided to add a big splash of color as my focal point in the avatar to bring attention and also to brighten the whole image up.

This one didn't take too long. Basic ellipse selection and paste into a new screen, then I added the Waterpixel effect and messed about with the saturation and contrasts. I added a 4px black stroke selection outline around the layer before added it to the final image.


sharown-pittawayoriginal.jpg

source - photo by sharon pittaway


sharon-pittawaywaterpixel.png





FINISHED LAYER


sharon-pittawayfinished.png



PUT THEM ALL TOGETHER...

2px divider.jpg

Now all the layers are finished and ready to go, it's time to scale them all down to the relevant sizes and get some copy and pasting done! I created the avatar and then added a Shift effect right at the very end to give it that added trippiness.

I'll not say anything else on the matter, you can let me know what you think in the comments!


finished.png





FINISHED AVATAR


finishedshifteffect.png



This post is part of the Drop in the Ocean show on the BuddyUP server

buddyupavatarupdatedsmall.png







Have you claimed your free basic income tokens?

You are a human-being?

Click here to start receiving your income.


manna.jpg

source - photo taken from grantcoin.org


As full disclosure, the hyperlink above is a referral link. You will receive 50% more tokens for the first 12 months when signing up through this link; I will receive more tokens too. Get yourself set up and feel free to use this banner as a format for the bottom of your posts.

top image: source - photo by lurm

Sort:  

I think it looks like a trippy eye! I think we should use them for the eyes of the mechanical wolves that were chasing @dreemsteem.

Really cool process! I wish I had that kind of artistic talent! I’m pretty lucky just to make a few edits in Lightroom.

Very CREATIVE Cal!

Let's get @dreemsteem over here and she can decide if it's a god fit for the wolves :)

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts @tamala! I haven't heard of Lightroom, I'll have to give it a google. I use GIMP, and no... not that kind of gimp.

So I would have never thought the middle picture was a jellyfish and I love the pop of color in the middle. Have I told you how much I love the avatar you made for me?? I don't know but just in case... I love it!! Thank you for sharing your creative process with us and thank you for appeasing us and allowing your post to go into the vote channel!! 🖤🖤

Haha! Well you guys twisted my arm :P

The jellyfish was a bit different for sure. I'm happy with the way it turned out, the white noise effect was pretty cool. I'm also glad you like your avatar!

Thanks for stopping by @monchhichi23!

They are way too beautiful to be the eyes of my spookies!!!! hahhahahaa
I love this process @calumam!!! posts that show how it's all done tickle my fancy! LOL

Really cool - when you told me about the jellyfish and the lights.. i'm like hmmmm dont' see it.

nowwwwwwwwwwwww I SEE WHAT YOU MEANT. hehehehe <3

(and doing the custom avatars.... love love love it)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54