Dunk Tank- Real world testing of Waterproof your drone video

in #drone7 years ago (edited)

A few days ago I posted a video titled Waterproof that Drone! I did a very short video testing it in disgusting canal water. It passed testing but I did not submerge the drone.

Yesterday, I took the drone to the beach. Salt water is much more conductive than fresh water. Did it survive?

Rather than forcing you to watch 2 minutes of drone footage set to nineties music, I will give you the results. If you didn't scroll down and were forced to watch...well, thanks for watching and I realize you still need the results.

Half way through the video, the drone was hit by a wave, flipped upside-down, and submerged. Without waterproofing, most of the drone would be a total loss. Salt water will savagely destroy an unprotected drone and leave you with a pile of carbon fiber that smells of fish.

IMGP8882.JPG

My drone did not survive without taking a hit. The wave knocked the Flight Controller offline. I applied a second coat of Conformal Coating and I will cover the USB port with electric tape before I go back for the 3rd attempt. Stay tuned.

NOTE: The FC was knocked offline, but came back on when I dried out the drone with 30 seconds of hot air from a Hair dryer (yes, I am a bald guy that owns a hairdryer. Unicorn sighting).

One last thing. The float I made in the first video was oversized and effecting flight performance too much. I cut the size down by 1/3 and wrapped the foam with electric tape to reduce the size. It will need adjustments to be able to take off and land from the water.

Final goal would be to have a drone capable of launch and landing from a kayak.

Sort:  

Nice shot they look amazing. You seem to like drone I do drone video too. We can follow each other.
My steemit account: https://steemit.com/@shootout

followed you. We need to start a group of drone pilots to boost each other up and grow the community . Check out @kaliber and @edwardseaton @quocvietle all are drone pilots. @cryptogee will be a drone junkie if I can help it. steem punks and drone junkies list

I check and follow all of those drone pilot and yeah you're right we need to boost each other to grow ;)

killin it on Steemit!

I don't see myself spending the same amount of time on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter now that I found Steemit. Dtube needs some work before I drop Youtube.

i had a similar expirience but om my kwad the vtx gave up , also hope to conformal coat my builds in the future. great works keep up!

I completely submerged the drone for about a minute when it flipped upside down. I did not take apart the Rotor Riot Swift 2....the casing will let water in. It died. Thanks for the support. Your videos are outstanding.. I need to find a bridge like that to practice reverse powerloops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39