Waterproof that Drone!

If you have watched any of my videos, you know I fly terrain that is unforgiving on electronics. I have lost 2 drones to the water and 2 more that fried from contact with water.
IMGP8920.JPG

To increase my comfort level near the water, I have waterproofed and added some cheap, light , removable flotation.

IMGP8903.JPG

I bought a bottle of conformal coating on Amazon for about $13.

IMGP8907.jpg

Heat shrinks were removed.

IMGP8908.jpg

The coating was painted onto the Flight Controller

IMGP8910.jpg

The ESC, VTX, and the receiver were also coated.

I taped the ESCS and added heat shrink to the VTX and receiver.

IMGP8915.jpg

I also used some zip ties and a section of pool noodle to create a floatie to keep the mini quad above the surface of the water.

IMGP8927.JPG

Sooo. Did it work? Mostly. It needs an additional layer to be 100 percent waterproof. Can you fly it, get it wet, and not ruin it? absolutely. Here is the test flight. Getting water on the lens makes it difficult to fly but it does not destroy the drone!

If you are feeling brave, you could waterproof a commercial drone like a Phantom if you are willing to open it up. The zip tie and pool noodle will work well to keep any drone afloat.

Sort:  

Congratulations @williamtangofox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome, how long did it take you? It looks like some fiddly ass work right there!

You say that we can do this to a commercial drone; does that mean you built this drone yourself?

A video of you waterproofing would be cool... I'm thinking of getting a small drone, I've never had one before; what would you recommend to start off?

Cg

1st, I recommend a free simulator. 2nd, get a durable indoor FPV drone . Fly that for a few weeks and then build yourself a racing/freestyle drone..

The drones in my freestyle videos are all hand built. The process is relatively easy. If you are going to smash them into small bits, it is good to know how they are put together.

The process of waterproofing was quick, maybe 10 minutes and then it had to dry for a few hours. It is a labor of love. I enjoy tinkering with the drones. It can get frustrating when there is a ghost in the machine. In only takes an hour or two to put together a drone from scratch. 3 or 4 hours if beer is involved.

wish I would have done it sooner. The coating is $13. Drones I have lost to water.....well, I don't want to admit how much I have lost.

If you want to follow me, I will follow you back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69