LEVEL UP my DRONE game: "Why?" and "How?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #drone6 years ago

I am super excited for my new tool for video making!

After some weeks of thinking about my real needs and plans for the future and questioning them over and over again, I decided to buy a new drone for my video making workflow. It costs around 5 times more than my current drone but the specs are minimum 5 times better.

the DJI mavic 2 pro

1812_2018_130957.png
picture from dji homepage

It has got some awesome features including a 3-axis gimbal, a 1 inch camera sensor, around 30 minutes flight time, 100 Mbps video bitrate, max 5km range (CE) and much much much more.

now let's head over to my background story of this purchase:

For some months now I am using the Yuneec Breeze 4K which is an awesome little drone for beginners with pretty good video quality. It costs around 290€ with 2 battery packs and a controller what makes it absolutely affordable and outstanding on the drone market. But please keep in mind: this is a selfie drone and it is designed to make videos or pictures in short distance and without challenging weather and light conditions.

1812_2018_131804.png
picture from yuneec site

Because I learned a lot with this drone I think it was the perfect purchase at the beginning of my "drone flying career" and I am super happy that I bought it some months ago. But there are 3 main things I am not satisfied anymore on my current level of drone flying and led me to search for something new.

image and flight stability:

The Yuneec Breeze 4K has a 2-axis gimbal which delivers good stabilized footage in 2 directions. The max resolution is actually 4K but then without digital stabilization (which is enough for pictures - but not for videos). But if the wind is blowing a bit and your drone is rotating in the Z axis - you see this on the footage in little stuttering movements.
But: When there is no wind - you don't have any problems. Especially with the controller, you can record super nice and smooth footage and the drone is worth the money when you are open to record just in these situations or if you are okay with a bit shaky footage.

missing possibility to record a sunset:

The second problem is the low light performance. "Low light" begins with the best time to capture videos: sunset. I tried to capture some usable footage for 3 or 4 times in the sunset (beautiful red sky and soft shadows..) but I was never able to use it in one of my videos. The camera sensor is just too small to capture enough information about the scene why the result will be pretty dark, noisy and flat. Of course again: If you are recording in daylight - you will not have any problems with the low depth of information of the image. I captured super nice and detailed footage in sunlight.

wifi and range:

The Yuneec Breeze 4K open up its own wifi you need to connect in order to control the drone. This is a bit annoying before the first start because the wifi needs some seconds to minutes for establishing. The main problem for my purposes of a drone is the limited range of that kind of network. I was able to fly over 80 meters (which is pretty far for a "Selfie drone") but after this, the connection gets lost and the drone returns to start point. Also, the transferred camera image is in a pretty bad 720p with a lot of latency depending on weather and surrounding houses.

my conclusion:

I was super satisfied with this drone, its footage and its capabilities for several months. But with practice, you are coming to a level where you want to try out other things and you want to reduce the restrictions to fly time, weather and area. Because I love drone flying and capturing videos in the air, I decided to level up my drone game. Now I am binge watching drone tutorials and cinematic Mavic 2 Pro videos and I am happy to have it in my hand... tomorrow.

The price point of my new drone is 5 times higher than my old one. But I know this will lead to much better video quality, much more flying fun and better use of my abilities and the spots I am planning to record.

Thanks for your time and your feedback in the comments!

P.S. Thanks to @captainbob and @art.visuals for their good tips and suggestions!
I value your opinion really high and will let you know what I experienced with my new tool.

@tibfox.gif

You are free to use every content of this post!

But please mention my channel in your post ;)


Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 109 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Watch the gimbal when taking off seen a few people recently damage them taking off from grass with out a landing pad... expensive mistake. Check out spotlight mode makes for some really awesome footage. Fly safe 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot for your tipps and warnings :) I am super impressed by this drone and don't wanna crash it.. omg :P

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah thier super great for the money, i work with drones so see all the ways people catch them selves out, keep an on the battery temps as the power drops off quick and if there under 15c dji wont let you take off 🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to see you stepping up your game man.
Waiting for that test foorage.
I'm sure it's gonna be amazing.
After all DJI Mavic drones rock.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey man thanks a lot for you kind words brother.
The 2pro is freaking amazing but because of the weather I have pretty bad luck at the moment. Hopefully there will be a good moment in the next days.

DJI makes awesome products for sure but I thought if I spend much money - then I want to have the most out of it.

Thanks again for you nice comment!

Peace!

Posted using Partiko Android

Also nur für den Fall, dass du nicht weißt, was du mit deiner alten Drohne nun machen sollst....😜

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hihihi ich werde sie demnächst für Steem verhökern ;)
Aber deinen Hinweis hab ich verstanden.. werde dich beim Artikel dann verlinken, damit du rechtzeitig Bescheid weißt :D

Leider ist das Wetter momentan nicht so dolle und ich muss wohl bis morgen/übermorgen warten, bis ich Luftaufnahmen von Sachsen machen kann :)

Frohes Fest!

Posted using Partiko Android

We had a Workshop at the Steemfet³ with the DJI mavic 2 pro.
It was so brilliant!!! the drones go mor as the 5k , and stand during the wind.
But still now the DJI mavic pro (the first) is very cheap nearly around €600.-, but its mostly the same as th dji2
you can see the videos from the dji2 here:
https://steemit.com/@unique.esprit

cheers, see you hopefully in Barcelona! 🤠

Oh awesome! Unfortunately I didn't had the chance to join the real sf3 event but the bead in the city and had a lot of fun!

The video is super cool and impressive! I am looking forward to meet you in Barcelona as well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Shuuuut... bro I completely forget to reply to your comment some days ago when u asked me about my drone. SORRY!!!
So here we go, I fly the DJI Spark, got it straight when they released it.
My choice for this one was related to my completely missing knowledge about how to fly a drone and I thought better to start with a small and "easy" one.
So now, after more then a year of flying this thing I would make a different decision. As I realized how easy it actually is to fly a DJI drone, I would have go with the Mavic back in the time.
So now, having the choice between PRO and ZOOM. I would have taken the ZOOM because I really love this feature of having a zoom function in the lens. But, hell yes it is a tough decision. The PRO with the Haselthingy... is just amazing. So good choice buddy and I am looking forward to meet you and your Mavic PRO here in Barcelona in May. Cheers buddy!

Best of luck to you with your new toy called drone. And if you are spending 5 times more then definatly it will be good as comparitivly . So see you soon in your next video with new drone.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe I wouldn't call it a toy but thanks a lot for your comment :)
I am looking forward the make my first dtube video with it sooooon.
But first, some other stuff related to @ddaily and @steemonboarding have to be done :P

Peace!

Its a adult boy toy . Hahaha 👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

absolutely haha :D

Wow dude that sounds awesome!
I agree, the better the skills get the more we demand of our tools, congrats to making the step and elevating your craft even further. I am curious, wouldn't you be able to sell your old drone for a relatively good price? Or will you keep it as a backup?
Loved the article because of all the trivia I never knew about drones. They got such a bad rep, and it's awesome to see how these are best used carrying cameras instead of bombs ;)

hey ! Thanks for the nice comment and your thoughts about the article :)
My plan is actually to sell the drone here for steem as well as my old gimbal ;)
Yeah drones have a bad image and this is not without a reason. I think we need to show the world that drones are able to show our planet from different perspectives we would be not able to capture without them. That is my plan ^^

Thanks again for your nice comment I highly appreciate!

Peace!

I totally agree brother. I feel you and me are so alike ;) Excited to see more media from you, and really glad to make your acquaintance

I think Christmas was a little bit earlier these days :)
I hope you get cool photos and videos. Have fun. I'm jealous. ;)

Yeah it was the biggest gift I made myself ever :D

Plus: I have absolutely no gift for my loved ones lol ^^
But there are still some days until christmas :D

Thanks for your comment and kind words. No need to be jealous. You have other things I dont own and I could be jealous about ^^

Take care (and see ya in january ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60638.91
ETH 2449.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52