This morning's flight in the clouds with my camera drone (Nixa, Missouri)

in #drone8 years ago (edited)

I've had one other day, early in my short droning career, where the cloud deck was low enough that my quadcopter peaked above it due to observing the legal 400' limit .. after that perspective you can't help but dream of another.

This morning when I left for work I grabbed my backpack w/ UAV & walked out the door, though its not been unpacked in several days I still take it as force of habit. (Idk why, maybe Aliens will land today & I'll get a cool shot of it!?)

As I was driving to work I noticed the clouds were lower than usual. By the time I pulled into the office parking lot 5 minutes later I had recognized what I was seeing and COULD NOT WAIT to get the device Airborne.

As I was flying I was focused on getting the best shot I could and didn't want to move around too much - more so to just capture a fluffy timelapse. As the clouds engulfed the drone for some time I had considered worry that the device's electronics, not being sealed or shielded, may be in danger due to the cloud moisture in the air. My solution was to turn up the props to increase airflow around the device, and move it forward 15 feet so that IF it malfunctioned & fell, it would do so over a grassy field and not a parking lot.

When it was time to land due to low battery charge, I descended with the props still turned full up until dropped down below the cloud deck. At that point I knew I was safe, turned the props all the way down, and landed as slowly as the device would descend to preserve the shot.

The result is one of the experiences where I feel like "I've been here before" in that its the same location, same device, same weather pattern, same shot - HOWEVER - this time I knew what I was doing and am very pleased with the end result. I also already have insights into what would make a better shot the next time I wake to this weather.

Mornings like this make me smile. Hope you enjoy Steemit! :-)

(Cloud Shelf was around 275-350+ft - Shot at 395ft using a Blade Chroma w/ CGO2+ camera - Nixa Missouri)

(Intro Post: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@giftedgaia/we-rise-by-lifting-others-greetings-steemit )

Sort:  

This is straight up awesome.
(^^See what I did there?)

I just hope my upvote can help this post take off....eh?

Oh my god, this post is fantastic. Clouds are one of the most mysterious and intriguing parts of our world, so videos like this are just perfect. Thanks for sharing.

Thank You for your kind words! I love clouds & sunsets. Check out my blog for past flight videos - Cheers!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75