Beverage Review: Kick Start by Mountain Dew

in #drink6 years ago

I have enjoyed doing some beverage reviews for my followers, so I figured I would continue this fun posting series.

Today, I am doing a review of Kick Start, by Mountain Dew. The flavor I tried is Black Cherry, so let’s get into the details.

The beverage is advertised as a “sparkling juice”, though it only contains 5% juice, and is a white grape juice concentrate. Given the name “Kick Start”, it has the name as well as the look and feel of an energy drink, which has taken the market by storm over the last 5-8 years. However, this is not an energy drink, as the 16-ounce beverage only contains 92 mg of caffeine, which is about the same as a standard cup of coffee. Aside from the caffeine content, perhaps the kick is due to the high fructose corn syrup, of which there is quite a bit, as it is the second ingredient listed after carbonated water.

Here is the review:

B1DAE081-C549-4EE4-A28E-53329F39CA01.jpeg

BBF9172D-0997-4325-AE71-638B5EFF448E.gif

I am a fan of the Black Cherry taste, as it is bold and unique. In this regard, the Kick Start beverage in the Black Cherry flavor did not disappoint, as it was bold and tasted great. In addition to the Black Cherry taste, I did also get a hint of Mountain Dew, which is a good thing given it is a Mountain Dew brand. However, in drinking the beverage, it tasted much like a standard carbonated soda, so I am not sure the “sparkling juice” is an accurate representation, as it tasted fairly similar to many Black Cherry sodas already on the market. I also do not quite understand the “kick” in the name, as it not close to packing the punch of an energy drink and is not the sort of beverage you would drink early in the morning.

Overall, I give it a 4 out of 5 Steem for taste/flavor, but a 2 out of 5 Steem for marketing/branding. This was an enjoyable beverage, but was more of a Black Cherry soda with hint of Mountain Dew than anything else. That would have been fine, except that it advertised itself as a beverage with kick and was a sparking juice, not a soda – both of which missed the mark, in my opinion.

Hope you enjoyed today’s review!

Brian

Sort:  

Hi @brian.rrr

Seeing you're thirsty, hehe the box never gets empty

Haha, very true! I certainly enjoy a variety of beverages!

really very good energy drink of mountain dew..its obviously very excellent tasty dew and i am knowing your Beverage Review just awesome and good.i am enjoying this dew drink doing any resturant and when i am coming my house end my office work i am buying this energy drink for my health energy to keep perfect strong..i am always choosing this drink for my strong steminy health.thanks to sharing again beverage review post..very well done..take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

I am like mountain dew in lemon test . When i am drink mountain dew i am frez . You are rock .

Thanks for sharing @brian.rrr

Great review about mountain dew. It's the best energy drinks and also my favourite drinks. When we go to any restaurant then choose Mountain Dew to enjoy.

Friend, how are you? how is the family? your beverage reviews are very good, in venezuela we do not really enjoy imported drinks very much but we have very good national ones.

Refreshment is soda and juice is juice to my way of seeing
The best known energy drink in venezuela is Red Bull

So this is more like a soft drink or soft drink as they also call it when reading also I thought it was a sparkling juice but you are right if its flavor is more like soda I would not drink it in the morning either

Very good summary I like them @brian.rrr

I also enjoy your drinks reviews so I know some drinks that maybe I will never see here and if I get to travel and see them somewhere because I already have a reference of this drink that's good
I have never tried a white grape juice would be interesting to also make a sparkling juice but if it is sparkling juice haha

MountainDew is my first choice. I like your great review.

I love drink. Very nice photography . Thanks for share

I think it's an energy drink, with a taste of juice and I see that my grandchildren sometimes consume that type of drink in the morning before going to the gym, the kick seems like an invitation to wake up to start the day, Likewise because of its high cost, it is almost not consumed and I was worried because they were addicted to these drinks, well that is my opinion, your opinion is very good since I see that you are a follower of trying new beers flavors although it is not juice , neither beer nor beer, marketing draws it as the last beer in the desert, so I agree with your opinion, greetings @ brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33