My Dream Vacation Destination is.. The Dead Sea

in #dreamtravel6 years ago (edited)

dead-sea-2084451_1920.jpg
pixabay

I bet you have seen reports of this place before, the sea where everyone who swims in it floats on top? That's due to the high salt concentration. The Dead Sea is the lowest elevation on land and its water is ten times saltier than any ocean!

There are three countries that have access to the sea, Jordan, Israel and Palestine. If you ask me, it would be a difficutl decision which country I would prefer to visit. There are so many interesting sites in that region like for example Petra or the city or Jerusalem.

One might wonder, why would this desert lake be my dream vacation destination?


Apart from that I definitely like floating on the water in the sun, the water is also said to help cure skin deseases.
It is actually said to be the first health resort of the world. See wikipedia entry Dead Sea

Unfortunately, I have a condition called Psoriasis. It shows itself in red, scaly skin patches. Its not contagious and in my case also not itchy, which is quite a relief. Nevertheless it bothered me for over ten years now and there is no existing cure for it.
For some, the patches just disappear after a while, others complain about the desease growing. It could be genetical, but reasons for the outbreak itself are unknown as well.
I have Psoriasis on several body parts and it started when I became an adult. In the beginning I was embarassed, I would try to cover it. This has been several years ago. Today, most people wouldn't even notice it at first glance, even though I have also small marks on my face.
I often think that has to do with my confidence. When I feel low and stressed I tend to notice the condition more - and more people around me adress it.

Anyways, there are several places around the world that have the conditions needed for the climatotherapy that can help the psoriasis, but none as acknowledged as the Dead Sea.
The two things I noticed reducing the scaling skin patches are sea water and the sun.
I am from the sea..the north sea coast to be exact, in the north of Germany. Not only is the sun rarely to be seen during the year, the water tends to dissapear for most of the day and is freezing cold. Brrrr!

In my travels in South East Asia I spent most of my days in some bamboo hut at the sea, bathing in the morning and not washing the salt water of my skin. And, you might have guessed it: it helped wonders!
Some of the affected skin patches healed completely.

pso.jpg
(picture taken from my notebook)

Now years later, I would like to go again for a trip to HEAL and cure, and I think the Dead Sea would be the perfect place.
At least it is worth a try. Otherwise I will have to go and find a spot to live at some sunnier part of the world for good.
Believe me, I absolutely considered that, but for now I just need some vacation!

This entry is for the My Dream Vacation Contest by @nuoctuong.

Thank you for this great contest!

Sort:  

@bamboozled, Congratulations! You received Honorable Mention for the Contest!

that is so great, thank you!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Not only is the sun rarely to be seen during the year, the water tends to dissapear for most of the day and is freezing cold.
It should be disappear instead of dissapear.

Interesting to see another original contest entry... most people posted entries about popular places, when supposedly the prize was for originality and creativity. I certainly didn't think of going to the dead sea for a vacation!!!!

I liked your entry about the digital fantasy world!

Thanks for your entry @bamboozled. I hope you're able to go and live there and I hope your medical condition improves. But I bet you're living a full life regardless of what it threw at you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70