Sleep Paralysis - Not again!

in #dreams6 years ago (edited)

Afternoon Everyone,

This morning I wrote about the dreams I had, but I also mentioned that I had another bout of sleep paralysis.

What is Sleep Paralysis?

"Sleep paralysis is a temporary inability to move or speak that occurs when you're waking up or falling asleep. It's not harmful and should pass in a few seconds or minutes, but can be very frightening. Many people have sleep paralysis once or twice in their life, while others experience it a few times a month or more regularly. It affects people of all ages and is most common in teenagers and young adults."

Symptoms of Sleep Paralysis

"The main symptom of sleep paralysis is being completely aware of your surroundings but temporarily being unable to move or talk. This usually occurs as you're waking up, but can happen when falling asleep."

During an episode of sleep paralysis you may:

  • find it difficult to take deep breaths, as if your chest is being crushed or restricted
  • be able to move your eyes – some people can also open their eyes but others find they can’t
  • have a sensation that there's someone or something in the room with you hallucination – many people feel this presence wishes to harm them
  • feel very frightened.

The length of an episode can vary from a few seconds to several minutes.
You'll be able to move and speak as normal afterwards, although you may feel unsettled and anxious about going to sleep again.

My Story

So this morning I fell into sleep paralysis twice! When I was having my first episode, I was struggling to breathe. I couldn’t wake myself up or turn over. I wanted to make myself sit up and stay awake. I couldn’t! I could hear my husband come in the room. I tried to get his attention. I wanted to scream, shout, make a movement… but all of this was not happening! I remember my mouth was open. I still couldn’t get any sound out of my mouth. I heard him tell me he was going to work. I heard the doors open and close and I heard the key in the door lock. Some how I managed to wake myself up. It was very sudden. I didn’t want to lay down. I was so fearful for falling back to sleep again and the same thing happening. The same thing did happen. Only this time I heard my husband and his friend and wife. I heard her come into the room. I could feel her hair brush against my arm. Again I couldn’t move, I couldn’t make any sound whatsoever. I was so frightened. She was talking to me and I couldn’t reply. I know my mouth was open again. I could feel my mouth water and drip out over my lip. My whole body was stiff. It really felt like everything had shut down apart from my brain.

I did wake up and I was gasping for air. I ran into the room where my husband was getting ready for work and I told him what happened. He came and sat with me and help my hand and told me to take it easy. I was so tired and felt drained. The last thing I wanted to do was put my head on a pillow. I knew what was going to happen. Thankfully I didn’t suffer again. I did drift off to sleep and I woke up a couple of hours later. I can honestly say, hand on heart, that I wouldn’t ever wish this on anyone. It has been a while since I last suffered. Fingers crossed I’m in for a good night tonight.

Much love,

Platinum-blue x

Sort:  

Sounds like such a scary experience. It's nice to hear that your husband is very understanding and comforted you afterward! I hope you do not experience another one 😃

nice experience really its helps us.thanks for sharing this

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I love this article

No fuc*ing way. I experienced the same thing yesterday night as if there was a black creature keeping me down (Probably hallucinating). God, so strange. It is actually getting kinda spooky... My father had it the same night... Thanks, Blue, for creeping me out! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64