Lucid Dreaming And My Adventures In DreamTown

in #dreams8 years ago (edited)

My story begins at my birth. I was born sleeping. Not traumatised, not crying, simply asleep.
Since then I have loved to sleep ( personal record 36 hrs) And I always remember my dreams.
The Aborigines refer to dreaming as Spirit Walking ; your spirit travels to somewhere else. I like this.
Ever since I can remember I have always been aware that I am dreaming, and have been able to control what happens and my actions.
As a small child that meant lots of flying and flying everywhere !! I still love to do this. The only downside is that you wake up feeling so grounded ....
As I grew up I became aware that this had a name - Lucid Dreaming. I discovered that many people didn't have the same ability as I have, and some wanted it badly. Lucky me then !!
Which brings me to the topic of DreamTown.
( Ok, obvious name but the first one that sprang to mind at the time )
I have been visiting DreamTown for a few years now. It is as real to me as any place I have visited when conscious, and it is so familiar to me that I could draw a street map.
A little info about the place. It is coastal with a lovely beach and an amazing ocean. It has shops, pubs, takeaways and rather strange people that I love to meet. I usually find myself catching a bus there, at the same bus stop and it's always the same bus driver, yet never the same passengers.
It is regularly visited by alien craft ; I never see the aliens but believe me, I keep on trying !!
I visit the shops and usually end up sitting outside my favourite pub with a pint. I know the landlord well but not the name of the pub ( I refer to it as DreamPub haha) There's always fun with the rowdy locals, and if it gets too much I simply fly away !!
So, the reason for this story , when in my previous blog I stated that I was no longer posting....
Last night I went to DreamTown. I caught the bus and got off at my usual stop. I decided to visit one of my favourite shops, an old school record shop with all the vinyl anyone can imagine.
Afterwards, I took a walk on the beach. Great expanses of golden sand, multicoloured shells and the bluest ocean the mind can conceive.
However, something was off. The sky darkened and as the wind began to blow people started running.
My eyes were glued to the sea which had turned a murky grey and begun to ripple and churn. I was filled with absolute dread and fear. I told myself to fly but to my horror I was still rooted to the spot.
I tried to wake myself up. It didn't work.
Out of the ocean rose the most grotesque beast. If you can imagine a Godzilla/ Cloverfield type creature that belongs in another dimension, then you will have some idea of what I saw.
It looked directly at me and roared. I couldn't look away. I couldn't fly away. I could smell it.
I woke up screaming and crying . Shaking. I am still upset.
Nothing like this has ever happened before inDreamTown. It was my haven, a safe place, a sanctuary where I was free and in control.
After all these years of visiting, I daren't go back.
And that leaves me in mourning for a place I once loved.
Some may see this as the ramblings of a madwoman but my grief is real.
Is there any such thing as a Dream Doctor ?
I think I may need one.

Sort:  

This is a wonderful post. I love that you slept through your birth! You must be a sound sleeper. :-)

Sometimes in dreams, if you talk to or befriend a monster, it will transform. I've had this experience a couple times, although there are some dreams where it's too scary to try. Maybe if you go back and face the monster, you can reclaim your sanctuary? Or go to DreamTown armed with a magic monster-slaying sword?

I had a recurring dream as a child of a devil cat who frightened me very much. I practiced in waking life facing him, so that I would do this in my dream too. Once I faced him, he stopped being devilish and simply left. The fear of cats I had at that time also vanished, and I've had cats in my life ever since.

Is there anything scary going on in your waking life that could have slipped into your DreamTown and disrupted it?

A Jungian therapist might be able to help. They work mostly with dreams and images from the subconscious and are probably the closest thing to a dream doctor. Or you might look for forums on astral projection. The people there usually have a lot of experience with otherworldly creatures and may know what to do.

I hope you find a way to return to your haven!

Congratulations @janjan! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @janjan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @janjan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29