Draw it better #12 contest entry Sunflower theme: Ballpen Art

in #drawitbetter7 years ago (edited)

Let's draw some sunflowers🌻

Presenting my entry to the contest! Here's a Sunflower drawing I made with colored ballpens.

Sometimes not having enough art materials leaves you no choice but to get creative!

Sunflower_ballpen_art_2_by_jyacini.jpg
A scan of my Sunflower drawing

Sunflowers are beautiful, and they're yellow, my favorite color!
🌻 Sunflowers turn toward the direction of the sun
🌻 Their yellow petals look like the suns rays
🌻 They will always be bright and cheery ready for sad days

I used to plant sunflowers before as a hobby when I was 10. I love how I see them grow and bloom. ☝️♥️🌻

Materials:
🖊️Any kind of paper
🖊️Titus colored ballpens
Yellow
Orange
Brown
Red
Green
Black
Purple

The Process 👩‍🎨

The proces is simply using crosshatching and scribbles. I didn't sketch the flower anymore, I drew the ballpen directly onto the paper.
Just be careful not to make mistakes and use a scratch paper to wipe the pooling ink of the pens tip to avoid blotching on your art.

Here are the work in progress photos
FB_IMG_1516778333483.jpg
yellow and orange for petals and green for the leaves

FB_IMG_1516778340955.jpg
brown for the pollen

At this point I did not know how to draw such detail so I used line art -
scribble to form texture of the pollen

FB_IMG_1516778336590.jpg
doing the second flower

FB_IMG_1516778362971.jpg
I use purple to darken spaces in between and in darker areas black, this will give depth and shadow

FB_IMG_1516778357974.jpg

Here its as if I'm using the ballpen to slice out a petal from the paper.

FB_IMG_1516778348211.jpg

Then it is done!

Sunflower_ballpen_art_by_jyacini.jpg

📸 This is my favorite shot
FB_IMG_1516778344409.jpg
I think it somehow looks realistic. Working with ballpens can be tricky. That must be the reason why I failed to make it hyper realistic. But nonetheless I am happy with the outcome.

🌻THANK YOU FOR READING AND PLEASE ENJOY THE ART ♥️

🤗THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY🤗
Sunflower_ballpen_art_by_jyacini.jpg
I hope you enjoyed and learned! Feel free to comment, critique and request!

🏆For ongoing contest and inspiration: please visit the following🏆
@anomadsoul
@sirsensei
@topkpop
@kneelyrac
@jacinta.sevilla 😂🤣

✨Please vote for your witnesses😱
@steemgigs
@cloh76
@precise
@blocktrades
☝️Proud member of✨
#steemph
#artguildph
#steemitachievers
#gratefulvibes
#untalented

FB_IMG_1516778377007.jpg
Be resourceful, be creative!

That's all folks!
🎨xoxo💋
@jacinta.sevilla

received_10214586986052169.jpeg
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.pngSteemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

Oh wow, ballpoint pen?! Awesome! That takes serious skill, beautiful work. Upped!! :D

O my thanks for the very nice comment :D
Im glad you like it :D
hehehe its what I was trying to achieve, realism even if its a pen :D

Hi @jacinta.sevilla. Wow your sunflowers look STUNNING! I would never have guessed they were done with ballpoint pen. This is really impressive and your blog is top notch too! We just stumbled upon your amazing artwork and would like to invite you to our fast growing Steem Artists group. This initiative is designed to promote artists and encourage members to upvote and resteem each other. If you'd be interested in this please click the banner below as you would be a true asset to our inspiring group.

Wow Id love to :D Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!

Wow Jazz!!! Sunflower is my new favourite flower now 🌻🌻🌻

yehey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! rose and sunflower guro akoa <3

what a beautiful drawing with ball pen its awesome i like these pictures. hats off the artist. i salute to the artist @jacinta.sevilla

Thank you so much too! salute!

Woah.. such gifted hand! At first sight it looks like it was painted (who would have thought ballpen does it) amazing work @jacinta.sevilla. thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much!
yes as long as the crosshatching is think and you do a lot of strokes then it can look realistic :)
Youre welcome! more to come :)

How beautiful it turned out to draw pens! I admire your patience! =)

Thank you so much :)
well if you love what youre drawing the more time you dedicate to it, its more enjoyable :)

Heeelllooo! :) Thank you for your post @jacinta.sevilla. I hope you're doing well. Take care and good luck! :)

Hi master @sirsensei hahaha :D im doing great :) hope you are too!
thanks !!!! see youuuuu!

Ikaw na jud! hehehe.. So artistic..bisan pag ballpen ra na, lumalaban jud.. two thumbs up! Galing galing siszt! 😄

Salamat kaayoooo 🌻🌻🌻 oo kana na tym nahutdan gyud kog art materials. Naningtiil haha

They are looking so real

Another awesome flower drawings. I'm so into purple right now, I can't stop loving the purple sunflowers. The texture was so well done as well, they make the flowers look lively and pretty.

Awww thank you so much 🌻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57