Drawitbetter Contest #10 The Clown

I am at it again, another challenge! I am loving the challenge of Challenges!

Today it is the #drawitbetter challenge sponsored by @sursensei. I believe there is one more day to enter and you can enter and find the details here at the original post.

I have always been terrified of clowns. So, this challenge was indeed a challenge and really became a bit cathartic for me. I found a way to address the clown that I was happy with. In fact I might use my image in another bit of design that I will share another day. Here She is then, My clown:

jan12clownchallengedone.jpg

Do not quake at her visage, but look deeply into her eyes. She will take you to a safe place...safe and quiet...and isolated.

I am meant to share my process so here is the preliminary sketch:

jan12clownchallengesketch1.jpg

Here I am trying out the colours and how I wanted to apply her 'clown makeup'.

jan12clownchallengesketch2.jpg

This is with a fresh ink laying down the final look to then be painted, chalked, and coloured in.

jan12clownchallengesketch3.jpg

I really enjoyed this challenge and looking forward to more.

I hope your day finds you looking your fears dead straight in the eyes and telling it "NO! I WILL NOT HELP YOU MOVE THAT SOFA INTO YOUR VAN!" or whatever your own fears might be. Smile a bit and maybe go a bit heavier with the lipstick and eyeliner and embrace the Clown in you!

Sort:  

A wonderful clown painting. Love the lucid blue eyes 🤡

Thank you and thanks for noticing, I wanted them to peer into your soul so the viewer could feel my own clown fear :)

Mission accomplished, @donnadavisart. Gracefully creepy!

The clown sees all the clown knows all...

Nicely Done!

Thanks. I'm not AS scared of clowns now...alomost :)

It's amazing how many people are afraid of clowns. Wonder why that is? Maybe they look macabre, or remind them too much of Ronald McDonald. Who knows. Can't say as I've ever met anyone afraid of furniture distribution though.

That was my subtle reference to Silence of the Lambs and tied it into serial killers. My clown fear is irrational. I'm not sure where it stems, but my 'art therapy' can hopefully help. And I've drawn many a chair in my day, so that must be my therapy for not wanting to load furniture into the vans of killers ;)

This is AWESOME! What a great way to cope with a fear than to tackle a creative project :) Great work! I love the colors and the expressiveness of your line drawing! I'm pretty neutral when it comes to clowns - I agree there is a creepiness to some of them, but I really love the Cirque Du Soleil clowns the most and because of the beautiful production work, its never been something that caused me much fear. I purposely avoided watching "IT" until I was an adult - JUST SO - I wouldn't be afraid of clowns as I heard so many friends and family mention that the movie scared them forever lol

I honestly don't know where my fear stems. It has sort of been a family joke that I've always been afraid of them. I have a niece who is the same way about gnomes. Of course she gets no number of gnome gifts as a joke, although no one has ever jokingly gifted me a clown. I'm happy with my clown and am already planning on turning her into a graphic for tees and mugs and such. I might as well take the fear and make it work for me :)

What a pretty clown! I find real clowns creepy. Good luck with the contest.

Next up: a clown furniture mover! Personally, I never liked clowns since they've always seemed dumb to me. But then again, I probally picked that up from Dumbo

Hey, since you like challenges I was wondering if you would consider doing something for this one: https://steemit.com/art/@steemitbooks/drawing-contest-design-a-bookplate
It's a contest I'm running for the Steemit Book Project, a project I started to promote reading. If you don't have the time to enter I totally understand, but I haven't had any entries yet so you'd have a pretty good chanvce of winning if you did enter ;)

ha ha I like it instead of animals in chairs ill do clowns moving chairs :) Ill check out your contest!

Another very good creation from you. Im a fan.

Thanks. Clowns are not my favourite, but I had to do this challenge and I kind of like a clowns a bit more now :)

I love it! It looks so sweet and sensitive, good job on surmounting your fears!

Nice work! A pleasure to meet you. Good luck with the contest!

Thank you and thank's for having the contest. I'm determined to enter as many challenges and contests as I can this year, it's just plain ole' fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55