My entry for MinnowBooster - SuperGoat Character Design Competition! :)

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians

I am back with my art. I am recovering well after my surgery. Needless to say I was distracted by it and it took away a lot of thought, time and effort from me. Now it's back to normal. I'm working on several projects right now, I may have found a job which I should start in 2 weeks (it is yet to be seen) and I plan to do more drawing.

Lets talk what this post is all about. Few days ago thanks to a friend I stumbled upon this article with a nice challenge to do created by MinnowBooster. Naturally I have decided to participate and do my best.

So without any further ado, here is my entry, the SuperGoat:

It was totally fun to draw and few hours that it took me to finish it passed in an instant. I'm happy with the end result and I will happily share my process and failures with all of you. I also got to use my markers (after a long time) which is an added bonus.

The process

It started with some ideas I played with. I googled sketches and images of goats, super goats and I wasn't pleased with the results. Then I used my secret weapon - Warhammer Fantasy Beastmen - which provided a bit better results but I wasn't happy with them still. I picked few images and tried to draw something on my own.

Step 1:

First drawing was the middle one - I wasn't happy at all with that one so I continued working and moved on. Second one was the lower right one - it was a bit better but I wasn't quite happy with the head. On the Third one, top right one - the head was almost perfect and it was time to add the body and finish it. Fourth and final, the lower left image - is only a rough sketch but I was happy with it's overall looks and idea.

Step 2:

I added some details in pencil and made it more clear preparing it for fine liner.

Step 3:

Details were outlined and done with fine liner. In addition small error was corrected.

Step 4:

I added more details, cleaned the pencil and made the outlines a bit thicket. It added some depth to the image.

Step 5:

I added colors to the image and I was careful not to get any feathering. Keep it nice and clean. There are up to 4 layers on some parts of the drawing and it really makes a difference.

And that's it :)

I hope you guys like it.
Have fun and keep steemin!
@zneeke

Sort:  

you got the ears in a right place atleast :D i got mine between horns :D and i own goats :D so i should have known not to make that mistake :D

That made me laugh out loud :D

Lol! :D
It takes practice :)

i love this.... great work...!!

This is awesome :D nice work @zneeke, he's got a charm that only you could add. Plus the minnow on his shirt is the icing on the cake.

Thanks :)
Yes, my monsters are often charming heheheee :)
That Icon was the point of it :)

Love that man and i love how you have shown your progression into the drawing , great as ever dude 100% upvote for you :)

Thanks!
That is something I really love doing :) and soon there will be more of it :D

Awesommm-meee-ee-e job! :)

Hahahaaaa :) I'm glad you like it
Thanks :)

Cute, I love goats btw and enjoying all the wip and doodles

Thanks :)
He's not just a goat, he's SuperGoat :)
There will be more of new drawings in the coming weeks ;)

great to see you back with some fresh stuff :D

love how the scribbles contain everything from muscle-packed super-hero goat and then we end up with a hippster goat with a coat... awesome!

Thanks :)
It's nice being back and having my mind free of any thoughts of surgery.

Nice job man! He does look SUPER!

Thank you :)
He totally is :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85