My short story: From pencil to pastel drawing "...I spy..."steemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago

Hello my dear Steemit friends,

Today I would like to share with you and with my new art-friend @janashby my story how I started my pastel drawings and how I came up to this stage:

a1DSC01253.JPG

First of all, I would like to tell you that I am a pencil drawer, as since childhood the first things I had for playing were pencil and paper. So I was happy with that and just kept going.

In summer this year my hubby's mother while sorting out her old stuff , found a couple of almost unused pastel blocks and soft pastel sticks, she was using them long time ago and but not lately. So she just asked me if I want to have them otherwise she wanted to give them away. I decided to take them, just in case, I thought pastel drawing should not be too different as a chalks in classroom.

My hubby told me that probably better to read first how to use pastel. At this stage it confirms that ..."men are from Mars and women are from Venus..."so like every woman I rely on my feelings and they told me just go ahead! For the first drawing I have chosen a simple subject-a flower: "Snowdrop", and thought it should not go wrong with it.

And here is the result, I have done it sometimes in August, can't remember the date, that was my first pastel drawing.

a1DSC01251.JPG:

I was very frustrated, as I did not think that I was so bad. After that, all my pastel stuff went into a drawer and I just kept going with my pencil drawings, that I loved so much.

For comparison, here is the eye that I have done with pencil, I did a sketch while watching so boring program on Tele:

a1DSC00972.JPG

Or another example of my favorite subject "Marine" such as sea, sails and boats, also pencil drawing:

DSC01112.JPG

Couple of months later when I saw again my pastel stuff, I thought that this is a time to try it again, and of course, started with reading everything about pastel drawing. I have found that pastels are pure pigments even clear then oil, acrylic or water colors, and they are blendable so one can create his own color tone and the colors should be placed in layers before blending, otherwise the pores of pastel paper are blocked with pigments and the paper will not be able to keep more pigments.
So my hubby was right, it was worst to read first.

After all this I started carefully my pastel drawings and every time was so excited when it worked. Until now I am glad I did not give up and left pastels off. I like pastel drawing, but I still love pencil drawing too. My hubby prefers pencil drawing he calls it "monochrome" and he likes more precise lines and details, as to me, I think as every woman I like bright colors and if I have to choose probably I would give preference to colorful drawing.

So, at the end, as always I would like to show you my step-by-step drawing of pastel eye:

At this stage at the beginning or sketching I am always pessimistic and can't believe that something nice can come out of this rough sketch:

a1DSC01245.JPG

Trenner groß.png

a1DSC01246.JPG

Here are the white of eye is filled with white pastel, I don't think you are able to see much of white on white

a1DSC01247.JPG

And here is the final picture, ready to be framed and for the wall:

aa1DSC01253.JPG

trenner.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my post and I am grateful for your visit :)

Sort:  

That green eye is so lovely! the colors are so nice!

Thank you @jacinta.sevilla, I find it beautiful too, it is a pity that such colors not existing in reality :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @stef1
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stef1 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86