Nevermind...

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

Nevermind.jpg

Nevermind...

Really have to push and motivate myself to write blogs lately and took a break for a week...But I don't give up and try to get the motivation back again so here we go. I made this painting today based on a sketch I made with my sketchbook. I used my Wacom Cintiq and Photoshop with basic brush.

Here are my process steps:

1.jpg
Tiny thumbnail sketch from sketchbook

2.jpg
Adding linework

3.jpg

Paletton

palleton.jpg

Im trying out different colors. A very handy tool I use is paletton.com there you can try out combinations or easely find complementory colors. I use often for art or webdesign. If you never heard of it go to http://paletton.com or go play with the colors :D

I choose some colors I want to work with and set up the base colors to work with.

4.jpg

Then I started on the background creating a blue spaghetti forest because I can :P

5.jpg

6.jpg

After a while of testing out things and shading which took a while I decided to make the orange more yellow and give the character more texture etc to fit the rest more.

I felt at some point to completely delete the project as it didn't feel right. It was out of my comfort and not good enough. I tried to ignore it and went on. I feel a bit inspired by older paint masters by using more suggestive paint strokes and mixing colors.

The final result:

Nevermind.jpg

I think it was good doing this because I went out of comfort more (which is difficult for me) and got more inspiration and learned something. Love the background and probably will use and improve it more. Gave me a lot of new ideas (not that I need any....)

Thanks for reading :D

thanksforeverything.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

It's always good to branch out from our comfort zone from time to time because as you said, we usually learn something new. And I know how demoralising it can be also haha, because things just don't look as good as usual.

This guy's expression might be mimicking the artist? He looks unsure and ambivalent about things ^^.

-upvoted-

Haha yeah with new things you expect the same skill level somehow but you have to get throught it and be less negative. But it gives new perspectives and cool ideas and keeps it fun than doing the same thing.

I think you're probably right ;)

Congratulations @sanderjansenart! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice picture, Sander ! A little different from your usual palette, ... there seems to be more colours here, blue and green and even yellow :> I like the expressions... all of them seems to be a little hesitant! Quite an expressive picture :>

True trying to experiment a lot to improve my style. Thank you @veryspider for the kind words!

You should put them on Pixabay and make money from them; one person has 48000 clip art things and makes loads; I've got 909 and make some every week...

Thanks for the tip I could try out someday :)

Insert a blue color and I am in :)
This is a really nice drawing to look at. Fresh.

If you don't feel like writing, don't write. No good is going to come from a forced post.
It will come back. Sharing different stages of your work is a great replacement for a text post. Let the drawings do the talking.

Thank you very much @ijmmai! You really like blue don't you :D

Yeah the demotivation comes from low rewards on posts it feels like not worth writing at all. But yeah forcing isnt good and rather write good posts. But when good posts get barely a reward it feels like wasting time and effort. But I realize thats it not always about the post but who sees it and is also based on luck and networking.

I understand completely, and it is hard. In the back of your head, you know that good rewards don't always mean good posts. It would be nice if that were the case, but it is not. Someone who knows high rep people can easily get a good upvote for a completely trash post.

Somehow the 'if they get that much for that low quality post, then I should at least get a good amount for my high quality post' mindset is easier than the 'wow they got way overpaid'-mindset.

It is more about who you know than what you write. The best thing to do is save your best posts for later, when you have way followers. Then you'll have the audience who will probably upvote you.

Another cure for you might be, take a look at my account lol.
You are not doing bad at all.

To get more followers, more people who see your work, start commenting on other people's post. Interact.
Be your best follower, talk to them, those who talk back will most likely be the ones who support you in the future.
Be true to yourself though, don't fake it, be honest in your replies.

Yeah and I spent a lot of time on artworks and try to get good process shots and explaining how I work etc. It's not a post made in minutes...While another post of mine has already more reward which was just 1 process shot and wrote the blog in couple of minutes. It almost feels more logical to just make a process blogs everytime than one good blog post with explanation etc. But everyone says write good posts, high quality etc. which I think is important and makes Steemit good instead of all the crap posts. But I'm happy there are good curators trying to reward good posts.

True it's also how it effects you. I try to make it relative and try not to see it as my work is less worth than that easy post. But it kind of demotivate to write really good posts which is a shame because we all want to see good posts. So yeah like you said at the end I try to save the good posts for now.

Yeah that's true I have been networking on Steemit since I started and it helps. But it takes a lot of time which I rather use on my art and writing good posts. ;)

Starting with Steemit is really like entering a room filled with people already talking to other people. You can say very interesting things, but no one is listening, yet.
The only way to get them to notice you is to talk to them. When you pick a subject you are passionate about, it will not feel like hard work to reply to people's posts.
When you leave meaningful comments there is a change they will check your posts as well.
So for now it is enough for you to post your work (in progess) with just 5 or 6 lines of text.

Longer posts are for later on.

I often get a higher reward for an image with short descrtiption than a how-to manual I spent quite some time on.

That's a great metaphor @ijmmai I did that a lot I must say and maybe the people I talked to left the party hahaha. But yeah I should do that more again but I always find it difficult to write comments and try often but lack the words. Ah well something to get better at.

Yeah weird is that isn't it? Like most people just look at the thumb and not the content. Sometimes my work in progress shot gets more than the final work with all the information. Guess you're right and save the big posts for later. :)

This is pretty cool! And I think it still has to be fun to make posts and you shouldn´t feel forced. On the other hand it´s good that you motivated yourself :) I love your characters, doubting themselves...

Thank you @ patschwork! Well I need to ignore how the posts get rewarded. It feels like not worth the effort. But eventually its luck and who is reading. And Steemit doesnt look that active lately.

Good for you to go out of your comfort zone! I like this; I'm not sure what it is, but I really like his/its/her haha face!! :)

Great to see the end result and from what you're beginning. The paletton site I didn't knew yet! Fantastic tool for color scheme's. In my webdesign time I used to set up my schemes with kuler. In these days it's the adobe color wheel. Here you can also set up scheme's and find the complimentary colors, (which I find always great to use).

And I'm so jealous ... for you having and Cintiq, I dream to have one! :D

Yeah I remember Kuler and is a bit the same like paletton I think. I often forget those tools are there but they can really help finding the right combinations :)

Thanks I had to save for a long time to get one and never regret it. Only miss that I could take it with me to a couch or away from computer. Those wireless versions are insanely priced :o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78