My drawing of RIHANNA....Original art @realitycartoon

in #drawing6 years ago


I would like to share my latest drawing of Rihanna. It is of the character Bubble she plays in the movie "Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets" that came out in 2017.

20180329_090033.jpg

I'm very happy with the results of this drawing. I can clearly see my development of drawing portraits and I feel like I start to get closer to get that super realistic look of my drawings. I have been drawing for many years but mostly cars and motorcycles. Recently I made a challenge to myself to make more portraits and also draw animals, and I can really see how practice makes a difference.


Below I will go through the process and share my method of how I made this drawing.

20180328_194934.jpg

First I start to draw a rough sketch of the basic shapes of her face. For this I use a graphite pen like 2H and press gently. I may have a different method than most artists, I draw some rough lines and measure the distance between different spots with a ruler to get the proportions right. Many people use the grid method and draw each square separately. I like to shade up the face and see the drawing develop.

20180328_204427.jpg

The next thing I do is to draw the darkest areas like her hair, eyes and mouth. For this I alter between 4B and 6B. Somethimes I start with shading the entire face in a light shade and then go on with making the darker parts. But it's fun to try different techniques, in that way I feel like I develop as an artist.

20180328_212933.jpg

After the eyes, mouth and hair I start shading her face in I light shade and I use a piece of toiletpaper to smoth outh the graphite in the larger areas and a paper stick to blend the more detailed areas like chin, nose and mouth. I also start to make the background black by using a very dark graphite pen like 6B.

When the background is done I start to make everything darker. Contrast is a key thing to get that realistic look in a drawing. The shadows around her eyes mouth and ears is almost black in the reference photo so thats what I want to create. The hair is also black with some light reflection in some parts. To get this right I use a thin mechanic pen with a diameter of 0,5 mm.

The finished drawing you can see down below.

20180329_090003.jpg




I hope you like this post, feel free to upvote and resteem if you like it
Follow me for more artposts from me
And remember to always be creative in what you do :)

Sort:  

Very nice. You captured the likeness perfectly.

Thanks :) Yeah I got it quite good this time

Really amazing ♡.♡ very talented tho

Love Rihanna! This is a really good drawing of her character. Keep it up!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by realitycartoon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 0.75% upvote from @minnowbacker courtesy of @realitycartoon!

Hello, excellent friend, your work. I congratulate you. I am also a cartoonist and I draw Rihanna in blue pens. Here she sent you my work and give me your opinion, thank you friend
https://steemit.com/contest/@betzaelcorvo/concurso-de-msp-music-and-art-curation-presentado-por-snibby-the-cat-semana-3-25-usd-premio

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06